This is the "New LPM Titles!" page of the "Law Practice Management Collection Subject Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Law Practice Management Collection Subject Guide  

A guide to the San Francisco Law Library's practice management resources for attorneys.
Last Updated: Apr 26, 2017 URL: http://calcountylawlib.libguides.com/lpmcollection Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

New LPM Titles! Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New Titles in the Law Practice Management Collection

Cover Art
Building Rainmakers - David King Keller
Call Number: KF316.5 .K453 2016
ISBN: 9781634250832
Publication Date: 2016-10-01
Every law firm needs a business development strategy. Rainmakers are the breadwinners for firms and the heart and soul of recruiting and maintaining clients. But how are rainmakers created? How do you turn a smart law school graduate into a marketing maven? And how does law firm management ensure that members of the firm are learning the art and science of being a rainmaker? Building Rainmakers: An A to Z Guide to Business Development Training is a complete encyclopedia of business development training techniques, indispensable advice for law firm management, partners, and associates looking to successfully bring in clients. Tips and tools are distilled from interviews with more than thirty leaders and innovators in rainmaking and business development training, including associates, partners, and mentors from Baker McKenzie, Stinson Leonard Street, Duane Morris, Nixon Peabody, and the LawVision Group. A clear and precise business development mentoring path can give law firm leaders confidence that the firm is creating and deploying rainmakers. Building Rainmakers provides not only business development techniques that can help your law firm train and coach very talented attorneys into very successful rainmakers, but also the metrics necessary to make sure it's happening and measure its progress. The new market reality requires a very high level of business development skills. Building Rainmakers will help you and your firm compete in today's highly competitive marketplace."

Cover Art
Every Relationship Matters - Peter Rouse
Call Number: K120 .R68 2016
ISBN: 9781627224604
Publication Date: 2017-05-01
Learn how to harness the power of relationships with yourself, clients, and colleagues to help you define and achieve professional and personal success. In this updated second edition, author Peter Rouse provides a framework to guide you in instituting reflection and change in your life in order to build and maintain relationships. Although the author uses lawyers and law firms as examples, anyone interested in utilizing relationships with clients and colleagues to improve their business or themselves will benefit from this book. Topics include: * Identify your firm's true values and discover what qualities are needed to develop them further * Learn to value and appreciate clients as a means for positive change * Discover how to handle responsibility and blame in a client-focused perspective * Change your self-perception and improve your perception of the world * Learn how your workspace can effect client-perception * Recognize and embrace change as an opportunity for growth within the firm * Understand important skills of self-management and learn to listen to physical signals * Learn simple behavioral techniques to build trust and lasting relationships * Promote the conditions within your firm that will allow relationship building to flourish

Cover Art
Law Firm Cybersecurity - Daniel B. Garrie; Bill Spernow
Call Number: KF318 .G37 2017
ISBN: 9781634257008
Publication Date: 2017-12-07
Law firms can mitigate the risk of a data breach through a variety of means, including: investing in cybersecurity tools, hiring internal and external cyber resources to augment the firm's current information security practices, and arguably most importantly changing the firm's culture to be more security conscious. No one size fits all solution exists for dealing with cyber threats, but with proper focus and resources, a firm can consider its unique factors and develop an information security posture that addresses its most compelling concerns.While preventing a breach should be a paramount concern for any law firm, it is similarly important to prepare for what happens in the event that a breach occurs. Although there are options, such as cyber insurance, to help mitigate the direct costs of a breach, law firms must also look to other options to resolve these issues expeditiously. As the costs associated with litigating data breach claims continues to climb, it will become increasingly apparent that law firms must begin looking towards other dispute resolution mechanisms, such as arbitration, in order to mitigate and control costs.Firms must take steps to create processes to mitigate and control the risk and fallout resulting from a data breach. A strong step in the right direction is Law Firm Cybersecurity, a resource that gives firms the tools they need to defend themselves.

Cover Art
A Lawyer's Guide to Networking - Susan R. Sneider; Center for Professional Development (American Bar Association) Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF316.5 .S64 2016
ISBN: 9781634253888
Publication Date: 2016-10-01
This book contains a compilation of quotes about networking from 60 individuals, most of whom are lawyers or judges. The book contains worksheets and exercises designed to help the readers build their own career networks. The result is a career-development guidebook for younger lawyers or those wishing to build out a new practice area.

Cover Art
Locked Down - Sharon D. Nelson; David G. Ries; John W. Simek
Call Number: KF320.A9 N45 2016
ISBN: 9781634254144
Publication Date: 2016-08-07
In an age where lawyers frequently conduct business across wireless networks using smartphones and laptops, how can attorneys safeguard client data and confidential information? This second edition of Locked Down explains the wide variety of information security risks facing law firms and how lawyers can best protect their data from these threats--with any budget. Written in clear, non-technical language that any lawyer can understand, this book will help you: create secure passwords and store them safely; assess the existing security risks at your firm - server rooms, cleaning crews, guests, alarm systems, and more; work securely from a laptop or smartphone; protect your mobile devices from theft; authenticate users and encrypt your data; maintain e-mail integrity; secure your wired or wireless network; effectively wipe data from a hard drive before disposal; develop an information security checklist for your firm; investigate, contain, and recover from a security breach.

Cover Art
Risk Management - Anthony E. Davis; Katie M. Lachter; American Bar Association, Section of Law Practice Management Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF313 .D38 2015
ISBN: 9781627223263
Publication Date: 2016-07-07
When the second edition of Risk Management: Survival Tools for Law Firms was published in 2007, the legal landscape was very different. Since then developments like new technologies, the financial crisis, and the rise of non-lawyers as major providers of legal services have all transformed the legal world immeasurably. In this new environment, managing risk no longer means simply avoiding malpractice claims and staying ethical. It now requires lawyers and law firms to address an increasingly complex world of rules and regulations in order to keep firms both respected and profitable. This all-new, updated third edition by Anthony E. Davis and Katie M. Lachter moves past recognizing risk and addresses the realities of managing risk. From managing employees to performing appropriate client intake due diligence, this book offers a practical approach to evaluating the state of risk management within your firm, and to implementing a program to control it. Topics include: strategies for tailoring a risk management program to your firm's specific needs; how a good plan will improve your firm's profitability; when and why to refuse a client's business; how the rise of technology has affected risk for the modern law practice; the need for an in-firm general counsel; and self-assessment questionnaires for evaluating every aspect of law firm risk management.

Cover Art
Virtual Law Practice - Stephanie L. Kimbro; American Bar Association, Law Practice Management Division Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF320.A9 K56 2015
ISBN: 9781634250344
Publication Date: 2015-07-07
The Internet has made it easier for potential clients to find legal services. Virtual law firms have revolutionized the delivery of legal services, lowering costs as well as evening the playing field. Whether you are a large law firm or a solo practitioner, there are business models of delivering legal services online that can bring your law practice up to speed with the 21st century legal marketplace. What are you doing to stay competitive? Do you have the know-how to responsibly incorporate technology and online delivery into your existing law firm? The revised and updated Virtual Law Practice is the one resource you need to take advantage of this fast-growing market. This book will help you: .Identify and develop a law firm business model for the online delivery of legal services .Successfully set up and manage a virtual law firm .Increase law firm revenue by responsibly implementing the delivery of online legal services .Make use of the latest technology .Create a successful marketing strategy for the delivery of legal services online .Understand state ethics and advisory opinions .Find more flexibility and work/life balance in the legal profession Stephanie Kimbro's practical guide also provides case studies of law firms that successfully integrate virtual law practice into their traditional business models along with client scenarios to show how web-based technology may be used by legal professionals to work with online clients and avoid malpractice risks."

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip