This is the "Home" page of the "Court Rules-How to Find them at the San Diego Law Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Court Rules-How to Find them at the San Diego Law Library   Tags: california, county, court rules, federal, federal courts, rules, state  

How to Find Court Rules at the San Diego Law Library
Last Updated: Mar 13, 2017 URL: http://calcountylawlib.libguides.com/courtrules Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

The Library Collection is Changing to Favor Online Sources over Print

The San Diego Law Library 20/20 vision: strategic plan for 2014-2020 advances as one of the main goals: Goal Three: INCREASE OUR VALUE & IMPACT BY SUCCESSFULLY MIGRATING THE LAW LIBRARY’S COLLECTION & SERVICES TO A QUALITY DIGITAL PLATFORM. As part of this goal, the strategic plan calls for expanded access to databases and to explore remote access as well. The plan further calls for maintaining access to print so far as is fiscally responsible, but to also revise the collection development policy; investigate electronic vendors and products; establish standards for purchase of online resources; and to increase access through electronic interface with the collection.

Part of this effort involves eliminating costly duplication in an effort to be fiscally responsible.  We still have access to the court rules, it just may not be in the format you have used in the past!

 

Finding Court Rules at SDLL

Federal

Internet:

Rules of the Supreme Court of the United States https://www.supremecourt.gov/ctrules/2013RulesoftheCourt.pdf

Rules for the Federal District Courts of Appeal and Federal District Courts http://www.uscourts.gov/rules-policies/current-rules-practice-procedure

Local Rules for the Federal District Court Southern District of California https://www.casd.uscourts.gov/Rules/Lists/Rules/Attachments/92/Local%20Rules%202016%20v1.pdf

Local Rules for the Southern District Bankruptcy Court http://www.casb.uscourts.gov/csdforms/Lrules_Proceds.pdf

Databases:

Our Lexis Advance subscription, available to all library users at our Downtown and Vista locations as well as our Public Library partners at El Cajon Public Library (Douglas) and Chula Vista (Civic Center), contains all of the rules listed above, and more.

The Westlaw plan subscription available to library members at Downtown and Vista contains all of the rules listed above, and more.

Print:

At the Downtown Library: California Federal Civil Rules with Local Practice Commentary. Reference Collection. Call # KF 8816 .C36 A5 2017. Library Use Only.

This set includes District Court Rules, Ninth Circuit Rules, FRAP, FRE, FRCP, Multidistrict Litigation Rules, United States Supreme Court Rules and Title 28 of the USC, selected sections.

 State (California)

Internet:

California Rules of Court http://www.courts.ca.gov/rules.htm

Databases:

Our Lexis Advance subscription, available to all library users at our Downtown and Vista locations as well as our Public Library partners at El Cajon Public Library (Douglas) and Chula Vista (Civic Center), contains all of the rules listed above, and more.

The Westlaw plan subscription available to library members at Downtown and Vista contains all of the rules listed above, and more.

Print:

Deering's California desktop code series. Lexis Nexis. Reference Collection at Downtown Library KFC30.5.D43 C56

Deering’s Annotated California Code has several annotated rules volumes. Lexis Nexis. Downtown Library 1st floor reading room KFC30.5 .D4

Local

Internet:

All California local rules http://www.courts.ca.gov/3027.htm

Databases:

Our Lexis Advance subscription, available to all library users at our Downtown and Vista locations as well as our Public Library partners at El Cajon Public Library (Douglas) and Chula Vista (Civic Center), contains all of the rules listed above, and more.

Print:

San Diego County Superior Court rules. Published by Daily Journal. Reference Collection at Downtown Library KFC993.S26 A19

 

About The Library

Profile Image
San Diego Law Library
Logo - FacebookLogo - LinkedIn
Contact Info
See website for all locations and contact information
Send Email
Subjects:
Law
 

Support the Law Library

Was this research guide helpful? Please consider giving a tax-deductible donation so we can continue to provide access to legal information.

Thank you for your support!

 

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip