This is the "Intro and Overview" page of the "Internet Resources for Starting a Small Business" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Internet Resources for Starting a Small Business  

Last Updated: Mar 13, 2017 URL: http://calcountylawlib.libguides.com/content.php?pid=699959 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Intro and Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

 

This guide is intended to help people who want to start a small business in California, with resources specific to the County and City of San Diego.

 

San Diego Law Library

619-531-3900

The Law Library has multiple branches in San Diego County with resources to assist you with your motion.

 

Support the Law Library

Was this research guide helpful? Please consider giving a tax-deductible donation so we can continue to provide access to legal information.

Thank you for your support!

 

 

 

City of San Diego Resources

City of San Diego - Office of Small Business

A local Office of Small Business dedicated solely to helping small businesses succeed. The City sets aside millions of dollars each year for programs to help small businesses prosper. Their “10 Key Steps to Starting a Business” is a guide for those starting businesses within the San Diego city limits, with helpful resources and local information.

Office of City Treasurer - Business Tax Certificate

All businesses in the City of San Diego are required to have a Business Tax Certificate, including home - based businesses, self - employed persons, and independents contractors. This website explains the San Diego City Business Tax application process, required fees, application forms, and links to other business resources.

 

County of San Diego Resources

SCORE: Counselors to America's Small Business - A Partner of the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA)

SCORE "Counselors to America's Small Business" is a volunteer, non-profit organization providing free and confidential business counseling to both prospective entrepreneurs and existing small business owners throughout San Diego County. They also conduct a variety of low-cost workshops for establishing and managing a successful business. Entrepreneurs can receive counseling via e-mail, telephone, at one of the San Diego SCORE offices, or at their place of business.

San Diego County Fictitious Business Name Statements

This is the San Diego County Assessor/Recorder/County Clerk ’s Office website. Any person who regularly transacts business for profit, UNDER A FICTITIOUS NAME, in the County of San Diego is required to file a Fictitious Business Name Statement with the Recorder/County Clerk. This site will explain the definition of a Fictitious Business Name and who is required to file one.

 

State of California Resources

Governor's Office of Economic Development

This web site provides links to a number of resources for starting, growing, financing, expanding, or relocating a business in California. Information is organized by category and provides links to public and private organizations, Federal, State and County agencies, and non-profit organizations.

CalGOLD - Business Permits Made Simple

This website provides links and contact information directing you to agencies that administer and issue business permits and licenses, as well as registration requirements from all levels of government.

The listings include descriptions of the requirements, the names, addresses, and telephone numbers of the agencies that administer those requirements and issue the permits and licenses. CalGOLD does not issue permits or licenses, nor does it offer information on specific license numbers.

California Tax Service Center - State of California

This website is a “Small Business Assistance Center,” a partnership of tax agencies, including the State Board of Equalization, Employment Development Department, State Franchise Tax Board, and the Internal Revenue Service. This resource is a one-stop source for small business tax information that is organized by category and provides links directly to the appropriate tax agency .

 

National Resources

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA)

The Small Business Administration offers programs and services to help your small business. The “Small Business Planner” includes information and resources that will help you at any stage of the business lifecycle: business planning; starting and financing a business; or managing and dissolving your business. This website contains a lot of useful, detailed information, such as online training, forms, local resources and links, and more.

Business Owner's Toolkit

This website provides information about starting a small business, including practical tips (samples and forms), and tax and legal information. The site offers more than 5,000 pages of free cost-cutting tips, step-by-step checklists, real-life case studies, startup advice, and business templates to small business owners and entrepreneurs.

There is some commercial advertising on this website, but all of the information is free, detailed, and extremely helpful. This is a Commerce Clearing House (CCH) resource sponsored by CCH Tax and Accounting, published by Wolters Kluwer.

Small Business Development Center - National Information Clearinghouse

This website contains links to sample business plans, industry information, business documents, and publications. SBDC Business Advisors are available for free, confidential business counseling.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip