This is the "Technology" page of the "Law Practice Management Collection Subject Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Law Practice Management Collection Subject Guide  

A guide to the San Francisco Law Library's practice management resources for attorneys.
Last Updated: Jun 6, 2017 URL: http://calcountylawlib.libguides.com/lpmcollection Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Technology Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About These Resources

The following resources contain information about different types of technology available for your firm.

 

Technology

Cover Art
The 2017 Solo and Small Firm Legal Technology Guide - Sharon D. Nelson; John W. Simek; Michael C. Maschke
Call Number: KF320.A9 S66 2017
ISBN: 9781634258173
Publication Date: 2017
The 2017 Solo and Small Firm Legal Technology Guide will not replace a law firm IT director, but annually it provides the information required for the solo or small firm lawyer who is the firm IT director, like it or not. It also will serve as an indispensable guide for a local consultant who has the ability to manage a law firm's technology infrastructure, but is not aware of all of the legal-specific technology products that are available today. Some of this book will be read and reread, while other portions will be skimmed or skipped depending on the immediate technology needs of the firm. No law firm can avoid dealing with technology issues today. Lawyers in all practice settings can greatly benefit from this guide.This guidebook can serve as a law firm's trusted source of basic information as well as in-depth information. It is a quick reference guide to understand where a new product or software release fits into a law firm's overall strategy. The authors of this guide bring their long experience working with the legal profession to the pages of this volume. It is certainly the most cost-effective technology resource that any budget conscious law firm could hope to obtain.

Cover Art
Alternative Fees for Business Lawyers and Their Clients - Mark A. Robertson; American Bar Association, Law Practice Division Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF316 .R63 2014
ISBN: 9781627223300
Publication Date: 2015-04-16
Author addresses how large firm, small firm, and solo lawyers can implement and evaluate alternative fee arrangements in transactional matters. This essential guide also provides real case studies of business lawyers and firms successfully using alternative fee arrangements to deliver value to both the clients and the lawyers. Technology information included in chapter 6.

Cover Art
Android Apps in One Hour for Lawyers - Daniel J. Siegel
Call Number: KF320 .A9 S54 2013
ISBN: 9781614387008
Publication Date: 2013-12-07
Lawyers are already using Android devices to make phone calls, check e-mail, and send text messages. After the addition of several key apps, Android smartphones or tablets can also help run a law practice. From the more than 800,000 apps currently available, Android Apps in One Hour for Lawyers highlights the "best of the best" apps that will allow you to practice law from your mobile device. In just one hour, this book will describe how to buy, install, and update Android apps.

Cover Art
The California Guide to Growing & Managing a Law Office - State Bar of California
Call Number: KF318 .C282 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Growing a law practice can be a lawyer’s most rewarding and challenging professional experience. The goal of this book, is to make it less challenging and more rewarding. It picks up where The California Guide to Opening a Law Office left off, exploring challenges of growing a law practice in detail. Technology information included in chapter 7.

Cover Art
The California Guide to Opening & Managing a Law Office - State Bar of California
Call Number: KF318 .C28 2008
Publication Date: 2008
As a sole practitioner or the head of a small firm, you must act as so much more than just CEO; you also must also wear the hats of Chief Financial Officer, Human Resources Director, Chief Technology Officer, and more. The California Guide to Opening and Managing a Law Office is your personal executive team. Technology information included in chapters 6 & 8.

Cover Art
Cloud Computing for Lawyers - Nicole Black
Call Number: KF242.A1 B575 2012
ISBN: 9781616328849
Publication Date: 2013-02-26
As more businesses move their IT systems into the cloud, lawyers need to ask if cloud computing is right for their firm. Cloud Computing for Lawyers features a discussion of cloud computing fundamentals, an overview of legal cloud computing products, and step-by-step instructions for implementing cloud computing in your practice--including practical tips for securing your data.

Cover Art
Collecting Your Fee: Getting Paid from Intake to Invoice - Edward Poll
Call Number: KF316 .P65 2003
ISBN: 9781590311530
Publication Date: 2003-11-17
By following Ed Poll's recommendations, you can ensure that your collection process is controllable and more efficient, resulting in satisfied clients and a healthier bottom line. Technology information included in chapter 8. With CD-Rom.

Cover Art
The Complete Guide to Designing Your Law Office - Suzette S. Schultz; Jon S. Schultz
Call Number: KF320.L39 S38 2005
ISBN: 9781590314814
Publication Date: 2006-02-23
This comprehensive new resource provides all the information needed to plan or remodel a law firm's office space. Technology information included in chapter 9. With CD-ROM

Cover Art
The Consumer Law Revolution: The Lawyer's Guide to the Online Legal Marketplace - Stephanie L. Kimbro
Call Number: KF316.5. K56 2013
ISBN: 9781614387060
Publication Date: 2014-04-07
Consumers in need of legal assistance are increasingly turning to the web to find lawyers, just like they shop online for consumer products. Firms that lack a compelling online marketing presence will lose out on clients and revenue. This guide will show lawyers how to harness the marketing power offered by branded legal services networks such as Rocket Lawyer, Avvo, etc., and pull in new clients in the process.

Cover Art
Flying Solo - K. William Gibson
Call Number: KF300 .F58 2014
ISBN: 9781614388142
Publication Date: 2016-08-07
Newly revised and updated to meet the needs of today s legal professionals, Flying Solo is a comprehensive guide to establishing and maintaining a successful solo law practice. The Fifth Edition of this ABA classic includes practical information gathered from a wide range of contributors, including successful solo practitioners, law firm consultants, state and local bar practice management advisors, and law school professors. Whether you're thinking of going solo, new to the solo life, or a seasoned practitioner, Flying Solo provides time-tested answers to real-life questions. This book will help you: Make the decision to open your own law firm Choose the right practice area(s) Create a business plan and determine your fees Leave your current firm without burning bridges Set up an office space Work with traditional and alternative billing arrangements Use technology to manage your finances Develop and execute a marketing plan Gain clients through social media Plan strategically for the future And much more "

Cover Art
How to Manage Your Law Office - Altman, M.A. & Weil, R.
Call Number: KF318 .A758.
Publication Date: 2013
How to Manage Your Law Office is a two-volume practical guide that provides readers with information about effective techniques in law office administration. It includes discussions on topics ranging from the intricacies of personnel management and law office ergonomics to how law offices can best take advantage of modern technology. Technology information included in chapters 12 & 13.

Cover Art
Internet Branding for Lawyers: Building the Client Centered Website - Jeff Lantz
Call Number: KF320.A9 L365 2012
ISBN: 9781614382935
Publication Date: 2012-03-01
This book provides step-by-step direction on how to develop a solid brand and website that will attract the clients your firm desires. The Client-Centered Website approach is fundamentally different from the "traditional" law firm website approach, which focuses on the firm instead of on how clients are served. You'll learn how to avoid the pitfalls of the "traditional" law firm website, as well as how to use successful branding and a Client-Centered Website as the cornerstone of your firm's marketing program. The Client-Centered Website approach is fundamentally different from the "traditional" law firm website approach, which focuses on the firm instead of on how clients are served. You'll learn how to avoid the pitfalls of the "traditional" law firm website, as well as how to use successful branding and a Client-Centered Website as the cornerstone of your firm's marketing program.

Cover Art
Law Firm Cybersecurity - Daniel B. Garrie; Bill Spernow
Call Number: KF318 .G37 2017
ISBN: 9781634257008
Publication Date: 2017-12-07
Law firms can mitigate the risk of a data breach through a variety of means, including: investing in cybersecurity tools, hiring internal and external cyber resources to augment the firm's current information security practices, and arguably most importantly changing the firm's culture to be more security conscious. No one size fits all solution exists for dealing with cyber threats, but with proper focus and resources, a firm can consider its unique factors and develop an information security posture that addresses its most compelling concerns.While preventing a breach should be a paramount concern for any law firm, it is similarly important to prepare for what happens in the event that a breach occurs. Although there are options, such as cyber insurance, to help mitigate the direct costs of a breach, law firms must also look to other options to resolve these issues expeditiously. As the costs associated with litigating data breach claims continues to climb, it will become increasingly apparent that law firms must begin looking towards other dispute resolution mechanisms, such as arbitration, in order to mitigate and control costs.Firms must take steps to create processes to mitigate and control the risk and fallout resulting from a data breach. A strong step in the right direction is Law Firm Cybersecurity, a resource that gives firms the tools they need to defend themselves.

Cover Art
The Lawyer's Guide to Increasing Revenue - Arthur G. Greene; American Bar Association Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF316.5 G74 2011
ISBN: 9781614380948
Publication Date: 2012-04-16
This book offers practical tips and step-by-step plans for evaluating, tracking, and ultimately enhancing your firm's revenue stream. Significantly updated and expanded to address issues facing law firms in the twenty-first century, this new edition demonstrates how to avoid short-term solutions, look beyond cost-cutting, and develop a multi-year strategy for achieving financial growth. Using your firm's existing resources, you will discover how to best maintain client relationships and boost staff morale.

Cover Art
The Lawyer's Guide to Records Management and Retention - George C. Cunningham
Call Number: KF320.R42 C86 2014
ISBN: 9781627222341
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Ensure you're following the legal and ethics rules for maintaining hardcopy and electronic documents with this newly updated edition of an ABA bestseller. Learn how to minimize risk to your firm and your clients, improve your productivity, and decrease costs by following key records management guidelines. Technology information included in chapter 10.

Cover Art
Limited Scope Legal Services: Unbundling and the Self-Help Client - Stephanie L. Kimbro
Call Number: KF300 .K59 2012
ISBN: 9781614383628
Publication Date: 2013-02-26
By providing representation for a clearly defined portion of the client's legal needs, such as preparing a legal document or making limited court appearances, lawyers can market their practice to an entirely new client base and give their firm a competitive advantage. The only book available on the topic, Limited Scope Legal Services provides lawyers of all types--from solo to big law--with practical solutions for setting up unbundling practices in their firms. Technology information included in chapter 7.

Cover Art
Locked Down - Sharon D. Nelson; David G. Ries; John W. Simek
Call Number: KF320.A9 N45 2016
ISBN: 9781634254144
Publication Date: 2016-08-07
In an age where lawyers frequently conduct business across wireless networks using smartphones and laptops, how can attorneys safeguard client data and confidential information? This second edition of Locked Down explains the wide variety of information security risks facing law firms and how lawyers can best protect their data from these threats--with any budget. Written in clear, non-technical language that any lawyer can understand, this book will help you: create secure passwords and store them safely; assess the existing security risks at your firm - server rooms, cleaning crews, guests, alarm systems, and more; work securely from a laptop or smartphone; protect your mobile devices from theft; authenticate users and encrypt your data; maintain e-mail integrity; secure your wired or wireless network; effectively wipe data from a hard drive before disposal; develop an information security checklist for your firm; investigate, contain, and recover from a security breach.

Cover Art
Social Media for Lawyers: The Next Frontier - Carolyn Elefant; Nicole Black
Call Number: KF320.A9 E44 2010
ISBN: 9781604429206
Publication Date: 2011-05-16
Many lawyers view social media as a passing fad, but lawyers who dismiss social media do so at their peril. This cutting-edge guide shows lawyers how to use a practical, goal-centric approach to social media. By enabling lawyers to identify the social media platforms and tools that fit their practice, lawyers can implement them easily, efficiently, and ethically. Written by two lawyers, this book is designed with both the novice and advanced user in mind.

Cover Art
Solo by Choice: How to Be the Lawyer You Always Wanted to Be - Carolyn Elefant
Call Number: KF300 .E44 2011
ISBN: 9780940675629
Publication Date: 2011-10-01
Solo by Choice includes information on the planning and practical aspects of opening a solo law practice, including location, jurisdiction, practice area, home office vs. commercial space, and more. It also goes into considerable detail about other critical issues such as how to leave your firm to go solo, when to give notice, how to negotiate severance pay, how to handle the clients; even a section on 'Who owns the blog?' Technology information included in chapter 10.

Cover Art
Through the Client's Eyes: New Approaches to Get Clients to Hire You Again and Again, Third Edition - Henry W. Ewalt
Call Number: KF311 .E92 2008
ISBN: 9781604420272
Publication Date: 2008-08-25
This book will help lawyers build better, stronger, and smarter relationships with their clients. From educating the client about the law to eliciting quantifiable feedback by using surveys, this updated edition covers legal marketing in an easy-to-read, well-organized and practical manner. Technology information included in chapter 17.

Cover Art
Virtual Law Practice - Stephanie L. Kimbro; American Bar Association, Law Practice Management Division Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF320.A9 K56 2015
ISBN: 9781634250344
Publication Date: 2015-07-07
The Internet has made it easier for potential clients to find legal services. Virtual law firms have revolutionized the delivery of legal services, lowering costs as well as evening the playing field. Whether you are a large law firm or a solo practitioner, there are business models of delivering legal services online that can bring your law practice up to speed with the 21st century legal marketplace. What are you doing to stay competitive? Do you have the know-how to responsibly incorporate technology and online delivery into your existing law firm? The revised and updated Virtual Law Practice is the one resource you need to take advantage of this fast-growing market. This book will help you: .Identify and develop a law firm business model for the online delivery of legal services .Successfully set up and manage a virtual law firm .Increase law firm revenue by responsibly implementing the delivery of online legal services .Make use of the latest technology .Create a successful marketing strategy for the delivery of legal services online .Understand state ethics and advisory opinions .Find more flexibility and work/life balance in the legal profession Stephanie Kimbro's practical guide also provides case studies of law firms that successfully integrate virtual law practice into their traditional business models along with client scenarios to show how web-based technology may be used by legal professionals to work with online clients and avoid malpractice risks."

Cover Art
Wills, Trusts, and Technology: An Estate & Trust Lawyers Guide to Automation - Daniel B. Evans
Call Number: KF320. A9 E92 2004
ISBN: 9781590312810
Publication Date: 2004-08-11
This unique resource demonstrates how drafting, database, and case management systems can make your estates practice more efficient and productive.

Cover Art
Winning Alternatives to the Billable Hour: Strategies that Work. , Third Edition - Mark A. Robertson; James Calloway
Call Number: KF316 .R53 2008
ISBN: 9781604421286
Publication Date: 2008-12-16
This guide provides you with tools you can use in your practice to implement and evaluate alternative billing methods—including real case studies of lawyers and firms successfully using alternative billing to deliver value to both the client and the lawyer. In addition to an appendix containing sample agreements, forms, proposals, and client letters, you'll find topics addressed include: Understanding the client's perceptions of value Ethical rules and practices; Interpreting and applying the "value curve;" How to build a billing method; etc. Technology information included in chapter 5.

Cover Art
WordPress in One Hour for Lawyers: How to Create a Website for Your Law Firm - Jennifer Ellis
Call Number: KF320.I57 E43 2014
ISBN: 9781627222105
Publication Date: 2014-03-07
Law firms without websites are placing themselves at a great disadvantage compared with the competition. Even if you feel you receive the majority of your clients through referrals, a website provides the opportunity for those potential clients to learn about you and your firm. This book will explain how to get create your firm's website quickly and easily with WordPress software.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip