This is the "Solos & Small Firms" page of the "Law Practice Management Collection Subject Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Law Practice Management Collection Subject Guide  

A guide to the San Francisco Law Library's practice management resources for attorneys.
Last Updated: Mar 23, 2017 URL: http://calcountylawlib.libguides.com/lpmcollection Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Solos & Small Firms Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About These Resources

The following resources contain information for solo practitioners and small firms .

 

Solo and Small Firm Practice

Cover Art
The 2016 Solo and Small Firm Legal Technology Guide - Sharon D. Nelson; John W. Simek; Michael C. Maschke
Call Number: KF320.A9 S66 2017
ISBN: 9781634258173
Publication Date: 2017
The 2017 Solo and Small Firm Legal Technology Guide will not replace a law firm IT director, but annually it provides the information required for the solo or small firm lawyer who is the firm IT director, like it or not. It also will serve as an indispensable guide for a local consultant who has the ability to manage a law firm's technology infrastructure, but is not aware of all of the legal-specific technology products that are available today. Some of this book will be read and reread, while other portions will be skimmed or skipped depending on the immediate technology needs of the firm. No law firm can avoid dealing with technology issues today. Lawyers in all practice settings can greatly benefit from this guide.This guidebook can serve as a law firm's trusted source of basic information as well as in-depth information. It is a quick reference guide to understand where a new product or software release fits into a law firm's overall strategy. The authors of this guide bring their long experience working with the legal profession to the pages of this volume. It is certainly the most cost-effective technology resource that any budget conscious law firm could hope to obtain.

Cover Art
The Business Guide to Law - Kerry M. Lavelle
Call Number: KF315 .L365 2015
ISBN: 9781634252362
Publication Date: 2016-06-07
There are many books out there about starting a law firm and growing your practice. What makes The Business Guide to Law stand out is the focus on the business aspect. It answers all those necessary questions (and more) that are important in creating and growing a unique law firm business. Author Kerry M. Lavelle is a lawyer that started and grew a law practice, and this book grows from his experience and wisdom. This book covers, in great detail, the time needed by you, and how best to spend it to grow your law firm.

Cover Art
The California Guide to Growing & Managing a Law Office - State Bar of California
Call Number: KF318 .C282 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Growing a law practice can be a lawyer’s most rewarding and challenging professional experience. The goal of this book, is to make it less challenging and more rewarding. It picks up where The California Guide to Opening a Law Office left off, exploring challenges of growing a law practice in detail.

Cover Art
The California Guide to Opening & Managing a Law Office - State Bar of California
Call Number: KF318 .C28 2008
Publication Date: 2008
As a sole practitioner or the head of a small firm, you must act as so much more than just CEO; you also must also wear the hats of Chief Financial Officer, Human Resources Director, Chief Technology Officer, and more. The California Guide to Opening and Managing a Law Office is your personal executive team. Solo and small firm practice information is available in chapter 7.

Cover Art
The Complete Guide to Designing Your Law Office - Suzette S. Schultz; Jon S. Schultz
Call Number: KF320.L39 S38 2005
ISBN: 9781590314814
Publication Date: 2006-02-23
This comprehensive new resource provides all the information needed to plan or remodel a law firm's office space. Solo and small firm practice information included in chapter 17. With CD-ROM

Cover Art
Flying Solo - K. William Gibson
Call Number: KF300 .F58 2014
ISBN: 9781614388142
Publication Date: 2016-08-07
Newly revised and updated to meet the needs of today s legal professionals, Flying Solo is a comprehensive guide to establishing and maintaining a successful solo law practice. The Fifth Edition of this ABA classic includes practical information gathered from a wide range of contributors, including successful solo practitioners, law firm consultants, state and local bar practice management advisors, and law school professors. Whether you're thinking of going solo, new to the solo life, or a seasoned practitioner, Flying Solo provides time-tested answers to real-life questions. This book will help you: Make the decision to open your own law firm Choose the right practice area(s) Create a business plan and determine your fees Leave your current firm without burning bridges Set up an office space Work with traditional and alternative billing arrangements Use technology to manage your finances Develop and execute a marketing plan Gain clients through social media Plan strategically for the future And much more "

Cover Art
Law Office Procedures Manual for Solos and Small Firms - Demetrios Dimitriou
Call Number: KF318 .D56 2005
ISBN: 1590314794
Publication Date: 2005-11-02
This step-by-step guide is the key to developing a tailor-made office procedures manual, containing everything from client data sheets and docket control systems, to employee benefits and file management policies. In addition, the entire text is included on CD-ROM fr easy customization.

Cover Art
Minding Your Own Business: The Solo & Small Firm Lawyer's Guide to a Profitable Practice - Ann M. Guinn
Call Number: KF318 .G85 2010
ISBN: 9781604427899
Publication Date: 2011-07-16
Strike a balance between managing your firm and practicing law with this book. Make the most of your billable hours with key management and strategies that amount to profits in the end. With CD-ROM.

Cover Art
The Organized Lawyer - Kelly Lynn Anders
Call Number: KF318 .A773 2015
ISBN: 9781611634006
Publication Date: 2015-09-22
Organizational skills and professionalism go hand-in-hand, and the topic belongs in any course related to lawyering skills. Now in its second edition, this book addresses the organizational needs and challenges of modern lawyers and law students, and it includes fresh and useful tips for even the most seasoned practitioners. We each have an organizational type that dictates how we live among our things. With topics ranging from attorney attire and effective marketing to developing attractive and efficient workspaces in the office, at home, and on the go, The Organized Lawyer is an essential reference for lawyers at all levels.

Cover Art
Smart Marketing for the Small Firm Practitioner - Kenneth A. Vercammen; American Bar Association, General Practice, Solo and Small Firm Division Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF316.5 .V47 2014
ISBN: 9781627224840
Publication Date: 2014-06-01
This book thoroughly explores today’s marketing landscape and outlines its many facets for you in concise and easy to understand terms. Includes information on: Creating a blog for free; Leveraging social networking sites; Best practices for marketing within the law office; etc. Guide includes CD-ROM with digital copies of all the exhibits used in the book and the various websites that are referenced.

Cover Art
Solo by Choice: How to Be the Lawyer You Always Wanted to Be - Carolyn Elefant
Call Number: KF300 .E44 2011
ISBN: 9780940675629
Publication Date: 2011-10-01
Solo by Choice includes information on the planning and practical aspects of opening a solo law practice, including location, jurisdiction, practice area, home office vs. commercial space, and more. It also goes into considerable detail about other critical issues such as how to leave your firm to go solo, when to give notice, how to negotiate severance pay, how to handle the clients; even a section on 'Who owns the blog?'

Cover Art
Through the Client's Eyes: New Approaches to Get Clients to Hire You Again and Again, Third Edition - Henry W. Ewalt
Call Number: KF311 .E92 2008
ISBN: 9781604420272
Publication Date: 2008-08-25
This book will help lawyers build better, stronger, and smarter relationships with their clients. From educating the client about the law to eliciting quantifiable feedback by using surveys, this updated edition covers legal marketing in an easy-to-read, well-organized and practical manner. Solo and small firm practice information included in chapter 13.

Cover Art
Virtual Law Practice - Stephanie L. Kimbro; American Bar Association, Law Practice Management Division Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF320.A9 K56 2015
ISBN: 9781634250344
Publication Date: 2015-07-07
The Internet has made it easier for potential clients to find legal services. Virtual law firms have revolutionized the delivery of legal services, lowering costs as well as evening the playing field. Whether you are a large law firm or a solo practitioner, there are business models of delivering legal services online that can bring your law practice up to speed with the 21st century legal marketplace. What are you doing to stay competitive? Do you have the know-how to responsibly incorporate technology and online delivery into your existing law firm? The revised and updated Virtual Law Practice is the one resource you need to take advantage of this fast-growing market. This book will help you: .Identify and develop a law firm business model for the online delivery of legal services .Successfully set up and manage a virtual law firm .Increase law firm revenue by responsibly implementing the delivery of online legal services .Make use of the latest technology .Create a successful marketing strategy for the delivery of legal services online .Understand state ethics and advisory opinions .Find more flexibility and work/life balance in the legal profession Stephanie Kimbro's practical guide also provides case studies of law firms that successfully integrate virtual law practice into their traditional business models along with client scenarios to show how web-based technology may be used by legal professionals to work with online clients and avoid malpractice risks."

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip