This is the "Client Relations" page of the "Law Practice Management Collection Subject Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Law Practice Management Collection Subject Guide  

A guide to the San Francisco Law Library's practice management resources for attorneys.
Last Updated: Jun 6, 2017 URL: http://calcountylawlib.libguides.com/lpmcollection Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Client Relations Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About These Resources

The following resources contain information about maintaining client relations for your firm.

 

Client Relations

Cover Art
Alternative Fees for Business Lawyers and Their Clients - Mark A. Robertson; American Bar Association, Law Practice Division Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF316 .R63 2014
ISBN: 9781627223300
Publication Date: 2015-04-16
Author addresses how large firm, small firm, and solo lawyers can implement and evaluate alternative fee arrangements in transactional matters. This essential guide also provides real case studies of business lawyers and firms successfully using alternative fee arrangements to deliver value to both the clients and the lawyers. Client relations information included in chapter 5.

Cover Art
Build Your Practice the Logical Way: Maximize Your Client Relationships - Carol Greenwald; Steven Skyles-Mulligan
Call Number: KF311 .G74 2012
ISBN: 9781614384410
Publication Date: 2013-05-16
This guide identify strategies to keep your clients and help you grow your business, including: focus on your clients; use value to create a foundation of loyalty; master communication techniques to build a client-centric practice; research and understand your current practice. With CD-ROM.

Cover Art
Building Your Practice with Pro Bono for Lawyers - Nelson Miller
Call Number: KF 336 .M55 2012
ISBN: 9781614386315
Publication Date: 2013-12-07
Building Your Practice with Pro Bono for Lawyers explains 10 pro bono opportunities that will broaden, deepen and strengthen your paying practice and legal career. Nelson Miller, an experienced pro bono practitioner, offers practical advice about helping underserved populations such as veterans, prisoners, immigrants, needy children, the homeless, and people with disabilities.

Cover Art
The Business Guide to Law - Kerry M. Lavelle
Call Number: KF315 .L365 2015
ISBN: 9781634252362
Publication Date: 2016-06-07
There are many books out there about starting a law firm and growing your practice. What makes The Business Guide to Law stand out is the focus on the business aspect. It answers all those necessary questions (and more) that are important in creating and growing a unique law firm business. Author Kerry M. Lavelle is a lawyer that started and grew a law practice, and this book grows from his experience and wisdom. This book covers, in great detail, the time needed by you, and how best to spend it to grow your law firm.

Cover Art
California Client Communications Manual: Sample Letters and Forms - Fujie, Holly, J./CEBOnLaw
Publication Date: 2012 - present
In-library access via CEB OnLaw. Billing, fee and client trust account information available in chapters 3, 9, 10.

Cover Art
The California Guide to Growing & Managing a Law Office - State Bar of California
Call Number: KF318 .C282 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Growing a law practice can be a lawyer’s most rewarding and challenging professional experience. The goal of this book, is to make it less challenging and more rewarding. It picks up where The California Guide to Opening a Law Office left off, exploring challenges of growing a law practice in detail. Client relations information included in chapter 5.

Cover Art
The California Guide to Opening & Managing a Law Office - State Bar of California
Call Number: KF318 .C28 2008
Publication Date: 2008
As a sole practitioner or the head of a small firm, you must act as so much more than just CEO; you also must also wear the hats of Chief Financial Officer, Human Resources Director, Chief Technology Officer, and more. The California Guide to Opening and Managing a Law Office is your personal executive team. Client relations information included in chapter 10.

Cover Art
Client Science - Marjorie Corman Aaron
Call Number: KF311 .A923 2012
ISBN: 9780199891900
Publication Date: 2012-05-04
Client Science helps lawyers to effectively communicate with their clients, particularly when delivering bad news or other legal realities. The author explains the applicable social sciences and translates insights from these fields into plain language to help improve a lawyer's ordering, timing, phrasing, and type of explanation, as well as style adjustments for the lawyer's voice, gesture, and body position. The guide demonstrates how the proverbial well-informed client— meaning a client who fully understands and appreciates the lawyer's information and advice—can also be a satisfied client who trusts the lawyer's competence and loyalty.

Cover Art
Connecting with Your Client: Success through Improved Client Communications Techniques - Noelle C. Nelson
Call Number: KF311 .N45 2015
ISBN: 9781634251358
Publication Date: 2015-06-01
An exploration of how improved communications can enhance client relations in legal practice. Using exercises and case studies, it reveals ways to: project attentiveness and caring; create a rapport that builds trust; become a client-centered advocate; handle difficult clients; and more.

Cover Art
Easy Self-Audits for the Busy Law Office - Nancy Byerly Jones
Call Number: KF318.Z9 J66 1999
ISBN: 1570736219
Publication Date: 1999-01-01
This easy-to-use tool will assist the attorney in conducting their own self audits. Whether they want to streamline procedures, foster teamwork, or build client relations, this book will identify the practice's problem areas, as well as offer ideas to improve them. Client relations information is available in Part II, pp. 11–34 & Appendix B.1

Cover Art
Every Relationship Matters - Peter Rouse
Call Number: K120 .R68 2016
ISBN: 9781627224604
Publication Date: 2017-05-01
Learn how to harness the power of relationships with yourself, clients, and colleagues to help you define and achieve professional and personal success. In this updated second edition, author Peter Rouse provides a framework to guide you in instituting reflection and change in your life in order to build and maintain relationships. Although the author uses lawyers and law firms as examples, anyone interested in utilizing relationships with clients and colleagues to improve their business or themselves will benefit from this book. Topics include: * Identify your firm's true values and discover what qualities are needed to develop them further * Learn to value and appreciate clients as a means for positive change. * Discover how to handle responsibility and blame in a client-focused perspective * Change your self-perception and improve your perception of the world * Learn how your workspace can effect client-perception * Recognize and embrace change as an opportunity for growth within the firm * Understand important skills of self-management and learn to listen to physical signals * Learn simple behavioral techniques to build trust and lasting relationships * Promote the conditions within your firm that will allow relationship building to flourish

Cover Art
The Essential Formbook: Comprehensive Management Tools for Lawyers - Gary A. Munneke; Anthony E. Davis
Call Number: KF318 .M85 2000
ISBN: 157073738X
Publication Date: 2000-01-01 - present
This volume aims to help you to establish profitable, affirmative client relationships so you can avoid unnecessary risks associated with malpractice and disciplinary complaints. Client relations information is included in v. 1 Part II.

Cover Art
How to Build and Manage a Family Law Practice - Mark A. Chinn
Call Number: KF300 .C455 2006
ISBN: 9781590316955
Publication Date: 2006-12-01
Tips, strategies, tactics, forms, and real-word advice for starting - or building - a family law practice. Examples and practice tips show how to gain experience, understand the business aspects of a practice, develop and maintain the ideal client mix, and manage staff and finances. CD-ROM with forms and related materials. Client relations information included in chapters 7, 10, 12, 13.

Cover Art
How to Build and Manage an Environmental Law Practice - Stuart L. Somach
Call Number: KF300 .S66 2000
ISBN: 1570737320
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Through practical examples and explanations, this volume explores how to build and manage an environmental law practice. It covers: the specialized business aspects of environmental law practice; developing and maintaining the ideal clientele mix; and the technology, tactics and tools needed. Client relations information available in chapter 6.

Cover Art
How to Build and Manage an Estates Practice - Evans, Daniel B. American Bar Association
Call Number: KF300 .E94 2008
Publication Date: 2008
This guide is logically organized to lead the attorney through the essential stages of developing a specialty practices such as an Estate Practice. It includes everything an attorney needs to know including how to manage workload and staff and much more. Client relations information is available in chapter 5.

Cover Art
How to Capture and Keep Clients - Jennifer J. Rose (Editor)
Call Number: KF316.5 .H69 2015
ISBN: 9781634252140
Publication Date: 2016-04-07
In this new second edition, How To Capture and Keep Clients: Marketing Strategies for Lawyers, the best and most innovative solo and small firm lawyers give the reader their secrets, approaches, and strategies to that age-old puzzle of growing your law firm. Through this wealth of savvy advice, the reader will learn how to: ask for business; attract and keep clients; network; partner with other lawyers; build a virtual law firm; market a specialty or boutique practice; market to ethnic communities; market in a small town; use technology in client development; create a service-centered firm; brand your law firm just like the big firms do; make marketing part of your daily practice; and avoid ethical marketing mistakes. The book is packed with strategies on how to overcome obstacles and position the lawyer for lifelong success.

Cover Art
How to Draft Bills Clients Rush to Pay - J. Harris Morgan; Jay G. Foonberg
Call Number: KF316 .M67 2003
ISBN: 9781590312520
Publication Date: 2004-03-09
For the first time ever, noted law practice management authorities J. Harris Morgan and Jay Foonberg have joined forces to write this newly revised and expanded second edition of an ABA classic bestseller.

Cover Art
How to Get and Keep Good Clients - Jay Foonberg
Call Number: KF316.5 .F66 2008
ISBN: 0981854109
Publication Date: 2008-06-01

Cover Art
How to Start and Build a Law Practice - Jay G. Foonberg; ABA
Call Number: KF300 .F66 2004
ISBN: 1590312473
Publication Date: 2004-04-29
Information on multiple aspects of starting your own practice including identifying the right location, finding clients, setting fees, managing your office, maintaining an ethical and responsible practice, maximizing available resources, upholding your standards, and much more. Client relations information included in Part IV.

Cover Art
How to Succeed As a Trial Lawyer - Stewart I. Edelstein
Call Number: KF8915 .E34 2017
ISBN: 9781634256926
Publication Date: 2017-10-07
How to Succeed as a Trial Lawyer, Second Edition is a compendium of essentially every aspect of the civil litigation process and then some, told with humor and erudition. This book does not purport to be an academic treatment of the subject. Instead, it provides practical pointers on everything from dealing with clients and adversaries to managing ethical dilemmas to marketing one's practice and learning how to avoid alienating prospective clients at the next fund-raising dinner. The section on effective deposition-taking is a first-rate primer on that subject. Taken as a whole, the book provides a comprehensive checklist and how-to guide for civil litigators. This book is equivalent to having a sophisticated and accomplished trial lawyer in the family who is willing to take the time to share the fruits of his long experience and savvy insight on everything that matters in the civil litigation process. Two themes permeate this book. First, in the Edelstein view of the litigation process, less is almost always more. As noted, briefs should be edited to the point of gem-like brilliance. Significantly, the cogency that underlies the most effective briefs also informs other key aspects of the litigation process, from determining the necessary scope of discovery to sifting through the claims to present in a complaint or to pursue at trial. Second, every trial lawyer needs to identify the themes that will advance the client's cause and make certain that every litigation judgment is consistent with those themes. Following the precepts of this book will maximize every client's opportunity for success while minimizing the needless costs and expense that have given the contemporary litigation process such a bad reputation. Litigation is a challenging vocation. It demands not only intellectual ability but attention to detail, perseverance, creative problem-solving, persuasiveness, focus, integrity, and the ability to press the client's position with enthusiasm while maintaining sufficient detachment to provide the objective, independent advice the client requires. How to Succeed as a Trial Lawyer, Second Edition is an invaluable guide to each of these requirements and more.

Cover Art
Internet Branding for Lawyers: Building the Client Centered Website - Jeff Lantz
Call Number: KF320.A9 L365 2012
ISBN: 9781614382935
Publication Date: 2012-03-01
This book provides step-by-step direction on how to develop a solid brand and website that will attract the clients your firm desires. The Client-Centered Website approach is fundamentally different from the "traditional" law firm website approach, which focuses on the firm instead of on how clients are served. You'll learn how to avoid the pitfalls of the "traditional" law firm website, as well as how to use successful branding and a Client-Centered Website as the cornerstone of your firm's marketing program. The Client-Centered Website approach is fundamentally different from the "traditional" law firm website approach, which focuses on the firm instead of on how clients are served. You'll learn how to avoid the pitfalls of the "traditional" law firm website, as well as how to use successful branding and a Client-Centered Website as the cornerstone of your firm's marketing program.

Cover Art
The Lawyer's Guide to Building Your Practice Through Referrals - Steven J. Shaer
Call Number: KF316.5 .S53 2012
ISBN: 9781614382911
Publication Date: 2013-12-07
For many lawyers, referrals are the best way to get the best clients. This book provides step-by-step guidelines for building relationships with referral sources, getting and managing new referrals, developing networking skills, and transforming acquaintances into clients.

Cover Art
The Lawyer's Guide to Increasing Revenue - Arthur G. Greene; American Bar Association Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF316.5 G74 2011
ISBN: 9781614380948
Publication Date: 2012-04-16
This book offers practical tips and step-by-step plans for evaluating, tracking, and ultimately enhancing your firm's revenue stream. Client relations information located in chapters 5, 6, 8, 9 & 12. CD-ROM available.

Cover Art
Letters for Lawyers: Essential Communications for Clients, Prospects, and Others - Thomas E. Kane
Call Number: KF320.L48 K36 2004
ISBN: 9781590312674
Publication Date: 2004-02-17
Helps ease the task of communicating with clients, prospects and others.

Cover Art
Letters for Litigators: Essential Communications for Opposing Counsel, Witnesses, Clients and Others - Daniel I. Small; Robin Page West
Call Number: KF170 .S53 2004
ISBN: 9781590312681
Publication Date: 2004-03-09
This publication includes numerous letters that can help simplify the task of communicating with opposing counsel, witnesses, clients, the court and others. With CD-ROM.

Cover Art
Limited Scope Legal Services: Unbundling and the Self-Help Client - Stephanie L. Kimbro
Call Number: KF300 .K59 2012
ISBN: 9781614383628
Publication Date: 2013-02-26
By providing representation for a clearly defined portion of the client's legal needs, such as preparing a legal document or making limited court appearances, lawyers can market their practice to an entirely new client base and give their firm a competitive advantage. The only book available on the topic, Limited Scope Legal Services provides lawyers of all types--from solo to big law--with practical solutions for setting up unbundling practices in their firms.

Cover Art
Minding Your Own Business: The Solo & Small Firm Lawyer's Guide to a Profitable Practice - Ann M. Guinn
Call Number: KF318 .G85 2010
ISBN: 9781604427899
Publication Date: 2011-07-16
Strike a balance between managing your firm and practicing law with this book. Make the most of your billable hours with key management and strategies that amount to profits in the end. Client relations information included in chapters 6–9.

Cover Art
Solo by Choice: How to Be the Lawyer You Always Wanted to Be - Carolyn Elefant
Call Number: KF300 .E44 2011
ISBN: 9780940675629
Publication Date: 2011-10-01
Solo by Choice includes information on the planning and practical aspects of opening a solo law practice, including location, jurisdiction, practice area, home office vs. commercial space, and more. It also goes into considerable detail about other critical issues such as how to leave your firm to go solo, when to give notice, how to negotiate severance pay, how to handle the clients; even a section on 'Who owns the blog?' Client relations information is included in chapter 10.

Cover Art
Succeeding As Outside Counsel - Rod Boddie
Call Number: KF311 .B63 2014
ISBN: 9781627222129
Publication Date: 2014-10-07
This book provides outside counsel with practical guidance on how to improve the level of service they provide and how to deepen their relationships with their clients all from a client's perspective. This essential guide will discuss how outside counsel have excelled, where they have fallen short, and what they need to do to serve the comprehensive needs of the client by adding value that goes far beyond any individual matter.

Cover Art
Think Again!: Innovative Approaches to the Business of Law - Jeffrey L. Nischwitz; American Bar Association, Section of Law Practice Management Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF318 .N57 2007
ISBN: 9781590317372
Publication Date: 2007-10-03
Think Again! is about creating a client-centric law firm and delivering great client service, differentiating your law firm from other firms, and developing the specific skills and strategies needed for effective and productive relationship building and business development results. The innovative but practical advice on building an exceptional law firm begins with how to empower your people, build successful teams, and add value to your service. You'll also learn the secrets of effective selling through existing relationships, how to take advantage of everyday opportunities, and consistent and reliable ways to bring new clients into the firm.

Cover Art
Through the Client's Eyes: New Approaches to Get Clients to Hire You Again and Again, Third Edition - Henry W. Ewalt
Call Number: KF311 .E92 2008
ISBN: 9781604420272
Publication Date: 2008-08-25
This book will help lawyers build better, stronger, and smarter relationships with their clients. From educating the client about the law to eliciting quantifiable feedback by using surveys, this updated edition covers legal marketing in an easy-to-read, well-organized and practical manner.

Cover Art
Transforming Practices: Finding Joy and Satisfaction in the Legal Life - Steven Keeva
Call Number: KF300 .K44 1999
ISBN: 0809225085
Publication Date: 2002-01-15
Transforming Practices is the first book to explore this movement toward bringing one's soul to the practice of law and returning to lawyering from a healing perspective, rather than an adversarial one. Author Steven Keeva skillfully examines how lawyers can find deeper meaning in their work, practice more compassionately, and enjoy what they do more, all by developing a greater awareness of and respect for their inner lives. Client relations information included in chapter 11.

Cover Art
Virtual Law Practice - Stephanie L. Kimbro; American Bar Association, Law Practice Management Division Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF320.A9 K56 2015
ISBN: 9781634250344
Publication Date: 2015-07-07
The Internet has made it easier for potential clients to find legal services. Virtual law firms have revolutionized the delivery of legal services, lowering costs as well as evening the playing field. Whether you are a large law firm or a solo practitioner, there are business models of delivering legal services online that can bring your law practice up to speed with the 21st century legal marketplace. What are you doing to stay competitive? Do you have the know-how to responsibly incorporate technology and online delivery into your existing law firm? The revised and updated Virtual Law Practice is the one resource you need to take advantage of this fast-growing market. This book will help you: .Identify and develop a law firm business model for the online delivery of legal services .Successfully set up and manage a virtual law firm .Increase law firm revenue by responsibly implementing the delivery of online legal services .Make use of the latest technology .Create a successful marketing strategy for the delivery of legal services online .Understand state ethics and advisory opinions .Find more flexibility and work/life balance in the legal profession Stephanie Kimbro's practical guide also provides case studies of law firms that successfully integrate virtual law practice into their traditional business models along with client scenarios to show how web-based technology may be used by legal professionals to work with online clients and avoid malpractice risks."

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip