This is the "Career Development" page of the "Law Practice Management Collection Subject Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Law Practice Management Collection Subject Guide  

A guide to the San Francisco Law Library's practice management resources for attorneys.
Last Updated: Mar 23, 2017 URL: http://calcountylawlib.libguides.com/lpmcollection Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Career Development Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About These Resources

The following resources contain information about career development and management.

 

Career Development and Management

Cover Art
The Anxious Lawyer - Jeena Cho; Karen Gifford
Call Number: KF298 .C47 2016
ISBN: 9781627226240
Publication Date: 2016-06-07
The Anxious Lawyer is a straightforward introduction to meditation and mindfulness for those engaged in the practice of law. Readers will be guided through an eight week program, the aim of which is to assist in establishing an ongoing meditation practice. The book will: .Provide an overview of the history of meditation and the scientific evidence of its benefits .Introduce the reader to simple meditation techniques .Offer concrete guidance for establishing meditation practice"

Cover Art
The California Guide to Opening & Managing a Law Office - State Bar of California
Call Number: KF318 .C28 2008
Publication Date: 2008
As a sole practitioner or the head of a small firm, you must act as so much more than just CEO; you also must also wear the hats of Chief Financial Officer, Human Resources Director, Chief Technology Officer, and more. The California Guide to Opening and Managing a Law Office is your personal executive team. Career development and management information included in chapters 9, 11.

Cover Art
Coaching for Attorneys: Improving Productivity and Achieving Balance - Cami McLaren; Stephanie Finelli
Call Number: KF298 .M35 2014
ISBN: 9781627223591
Publication Date: 2014-11-07
Coaching for Attorneys is more than just a book. It is a mentor—addressing common problems and concerns that lawyers experience throughout their careers—and provides specific tools along with specific step-by-step instructions on how to use these tools to help you make life as a lawyer easier.

Cover Art
The Creative Lawyer: A Practical Guide to Authentic Professional Satisfaction - Michael F. Melcher
Call Number: KF300 .M45 2007
ISBN: 9781590318430
Publication Date: 2007-09-27
The Creative Lawyer is a self-help book for lawyers. It is a practical, fun, inspirational guide to building and maintaining a life that is personally and professionally satisfying. The book responds to a huge and completely unsatisfied need: the desire of lawyers to be more fulfilled, by showing how lawyers can design an optimal career and life that corresponds to who he or she actually is.

Cover Art
Easy Self-Audits for the Busy Law Office - Nancy Byerly Jones
Call Number: KF318.Z9 J66 1999
ISBN: 1570736219
Publication Date: 1999-01-01
This easy-to-use tool will assist the attorney in conducting their own self audits. Whether they want to streamline procedures, foster teamwork, or build client relations, this book will identify the practice's problem areas, as well as offer ideas to improve them. Career development and management information included in Part II pp. 35–64, 201–16.

Cover Art
Every Relationship Matters - Peter Rouse
Call Number: K120 .R68 2016
ISBN: 9781627224604
Publication Date: 2017-05-01
Learn how to harness the power of relationships with yourself, clients, and colleagues to help you define and achieve professional and personal success. In this updated second edition, author Peter Rouse provides a framework to guide you in instituting reflection and change in your life in order to build and maintain relationships. Although the author uses lawyers and law firms as examples, anyone interested in utilizing relationships with clients and colleagues to improve their business or themselves will benefit from this book. Topics include: * Identify your firm's true values and discover what qualities are needed to develop them further * Learn to value and appreciate clients as a means for positive change. * Discover how to handle responsibility and blame in a client-focused perspective * Change your self-perception and improve your perception of the world * Learn how your workspace can effect client-perception * Recognize and embrace change as an opportunity for growth within the firm * Understand important skills of self-management and learn to listen to physical signals * Learn simple behavioral techniques to build trust and lasting relationships * Promote the conditions within your firm that will allow relationship building to flourish

Cover Art
Flying Solo - K. William Gibson
Call Number: KF300 .F58 2014
ISBN: 9781614388142
Publication Date: 2016-08-07
Newly revised and updated to meet the needs of today s legal professionals, Flying Solo is a comprehensive guide to establishing and maintaining a successful solo law practice. The Fifth Edition of this ABA classic includes practical information gathered from a wide range of contributors, including successful solo practitioners, law firm consultants, state and local bar practice management advisors, and law school professors. Whether you're thinking of going solo, new to the solo life, or a seasoned practitioner, Flying Solo provides time-tested answers to real-life questions. This book will help you: Make the decision to open your own law firm Choose the right practice area(s) Create a business plan and determine your fees Leave your current firm without burning bridges Set up an office space Work with traditional and alternative billing arrangements Use technology to manage your finances Develop and execute a marketing plan Gain clients through social media Plan strategically for the future And much more "

Cover Art
The Good Lawyer - Douglas O. Linder; Nancy Levit
Call Number: K115 .L56 2014
ISBN: 9780199360239
Publication Date: 2014-06-02
It's not easy being good—quality is less something one grasps and hangs onto than a goal that requires constant striving and attention—but this engaging guide will serve as a handbook for any lawyer trying not only to figure out how to respond to difficult situations, but how to become a better —meaning both more competent and more virtuous—lawyer.

Cover Art
How to Build and Manage a Family Law Practice - Mark A. Chinn
Call Number: KF300 .C455 2006
ISBN: 1590316959
Publication Date: 2006-12-01
Tips, strategies, tactics, forms, and real-word advice for building a family law practice. Includes CD-ROM with forms and related materials. Career development and management information included chapters 9 & 17.

Cover Art
How to Build and Manage an Entertainment Law Practice - Gary Greenberg; American Bar Association, Section of Law Practice Management Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF300 .G74 2001
ISBN: 1570739048
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
This text is designed for lawyers and other professionals looking for a resource that will shorten the learning curve for building and managing an entertainment law practice. Career development and management information included chapters 9 & 10.

Cover Art
How to Build and Manage an Environmental Law Practice - Stuart L. Somach
Call Number: KF300 .S66 2000
ISBN: 1570737320
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Through practical examples and explanations, this volume explores how to build and manage an environmental law practice. It covers: the specialized business aspects of environmental law practice; developing and maintaining the ideal clientele mix; and the technology, tactics and tools needed. Career development and management information included in chapters 3, 8 & 11.

Cover Art
The Lawyer's Guide to Balancing Life and Work - George W. Kaufman
Call Number: KF300 .K38 2006
ISBN: 9781590316740
Publication Date: 2006-09-13
The Lawyer's Guide to Balancing Life and Work, Second Edition is about how the law fits inside you, not how you fit inside the law. Making space for creativity and passion within your current workplace and at home can yield enormous emotional rewards. In the end, this book will support you whether you stay in the law, shift your law practice, or move on to other work. This book is the tool you need to make healthy decisions and welcome the passion back into your life! CD-ROM available.

Cover Art
The Lawyer's Guide to Building Your Practice Through Referrals - Steven J. Shaer
Call Number: KF316.5 .S53 2012
ISBN: 9781614382911
Publication Date: 2013-12-07
For many lawyers, referrals are the best way to get the best clients. This book provides step-by-step guidelines for building relationships with referral sources, getting and managing new referrals, developing networking skills, and transforming acquaintances into clients.

Cover Art
A Lawyer's Guide to Networking - Susan R. Sneider; Center for Professional Development (American Bar Association) Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF316.5 .S64 2016
ISBN: 9781634253888
Publication Date: 2016-10-01
This book contains a compilation of quotes about networking from 60 individuals, most of whom are lawyers or judges. The book contains worksheets and exercises designed to help the readers build their own career networks. The result is a career-development guidebook for younger lawyers or those wishing to build out a new practice area.

Cover Art
Lawyers As Leaders - Deborah L. Rhode
Call Number: KF298 .R46 2013
ISBN: 9780199896226
Publication Date: 2013-09-09
In Lawyers as Leaders, eminent law professor Deborah Rhode not only answers these questions but provides an invaluable overview for attorneys who occupy or aspire to leadership positions in public and private practice settings. Drawing on a broad range of interdisciplinary research, biographical profiles, and empirical studies, she covers everything from decision making, conflict management, and communication to ethics and diversity in leadership, and what lawyers can do to advance both their professional development and the public interest.

Cover Art
Leadership for Lawyers - Herb Rubinstein
Call Number: KF275 .R82 2008
ISBN: 9781590318447
Publication Date: 2008-01-28
Leadership is essential for anyone who wants to steer their firms and organizations to new heights. This book is first in its field to help those in the legal profession become more effective leaders. Readers will discover the various brands of leaders, and the strengths and weaknesses of each. Herb Rubinstein has taught leadership at five universities and is the founder and president of Growth Strategies, Inc., a strategy, management, leadership, and innovation consulting firm in Bethesda, Maryland.

Cover Art
The Legal Career Guide: From Law Student to Lawyer - Gary A. Munneke
Call Number: KF297 .M8619 2002
ISBN: 9781590310595
Publication Date: 2003-06-03
Introducing the latest edition of this step-by-step guide for planning and executing a job search. This book is filled with practical advice that will help anyone find their personal niche in the legal profession.

Cover Art
Minding Your Own Business: The Solo & Small Firm Lawyer's Guide to a Profitable Practice - Ann M. Guinn
Call Number: KF318 .G85 2010
ISBN: 9781604427899
Publication Date: 2011-07-16
Strike a balance between managing your firm and practicing law with this book. Make the most of your billable hours with key management and strategies that amount to profits in the end.

Cover Art
Nonlegal Careers for Lawyers - Gary A. Munneke; William D. Henslee; Ellen Wayne
Call Number: KF297 .M862 2006
ISBN: 9781590316757
Publication Date: 2006-07-21
Great opportunities exist for law students and practicing lawyers outside the traditional practice of law. This important resource shows you when and how to choose a nonlegal career; the specialized skills legal training provides; how to plan and conduct a job search; and provides details on careers in business and industry, government and public service, associations and institutions, and entrepreneurial ventures. A resource section provides surveys and listings of nonlegal careers in several categories, and a listing of publishers and suggested readings on nonlegal careers.

Cover Art
The Organized Lawyer - Kelly Lynn Anders
Call Number: KF318 .A773 2015
ISBN: 9781611634006
Publication Date: 2015-09-22
Organizational skills and professionalism go hand-in-hand, and the topic belongs in any course related to lawyering skills. Now in its second edition, this book addresses the organizational needs and challenges of modern lawyers and law students, and it includes fresh and useful tips for even the most seasoned practitioners. We each have an organizational type that dictates how we live among our things. With topics ranging from attorney attire and effective marketing to developing attractive and efficient workspaces in the office, at home, and on the go, The Organized Lawyer is an essential reference for lawyers at all levels.

Cover Art
Personal Branding in One Hour for Lawyers - Katy Goshtasbi
Call Number: KF316.5 .G67 2013
ISBN: 9781627221597
Publication Date: 2014-08-07
To survive and thrive, lawyers must develop their own intentional personal brand to distinguish themselves from the competition. In Personal Branding in One Hour for Lawyers, personal branding expert and experienced attorney Katy Goshtasbi explains how attorneys can highlight their unique talents and abilities, manage their perceptions, and achieve greater success as a lawyer in the process.

Cover Art
Tomorrow's Lawyers - Richard Susskind
Call Number: K120 .S87 2013
ISBN: 9780199668069
Publication Date: 2013-03-01
In his newest provocative and forward-looking volume on the legal profession, Richard Susskind predicts fundamental and irreversible changes in the world of law. What Susskind sees is eye-opening-a legal world of virtual courts, Internet-based global legal businesses, online document production, commoditized service, legal process outsourcing, and web-based simulated practice. Tomorrow's Lawyers is a definitive guide to this future--for young and aspiring lawyers, and for all who want to modernize our legal and justice systems. It introduces the new legal landscape and offers practical guidance for those who intend to build careers and businesses in law.

Cover Art
Transforming Practices: Finding Joy and Satisfaction in the Legal Life - Steven Keeva
Call Number: KF300 .K44 1999
ISBN: 0809225085
Publication Date: 2002-01-15
Transforming Practices is the first book to explore this movement toward bringing one's soul to the practice of law and returning to lawyering from a healing perspective, rather than an adversarial one. Author Steven Keeva skillfully examines how lawyers can find deeper meaning in their work, practice more compassionately, and enjoy what they do more, all by developing a greater awareness of and respect for their inner lives.

Cover Art
The Woman Advocate - Abbe F. Fletman; Evelyn R. Storch
Call Number: KF299.W6 W64 2010
ISBN: 9786044272337
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Written by women advocates for women advocates, The Woman Advocate contains first-hand accounts from successful women lawyers of their experiences at all stages of career development. In the four parts of the book --- Where We Are; How We Got There; What Our Environment Is Like; and Where We're Going --- the contributors provide reflections, advice, guidance, and, of course, "war stories" in lively, entertaining and insightful prose.

Cover Art
Women at Law - Phyllis Horn Epstein
Call Number: KF299.W6 E654 2004
ISBN: 9781590313541
Publication Date: 2004-11-22
How do women lawyers define success in today's world? For this new guide, author Phyllis Horn Epstein interviewed over 100 women lawyers of all ages, backgrounds, and lifestyle in a wide variety of practice settings in the nation.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip