This is the "Billing & Fees" page of the "Law Practice Management Collection Subject Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Law Practice Management Collection Subject Guide  

A guide to the San Francisco Law Library's practice management resources for attorneys.
Last Updated: Jun 29, 2017 URL: http://calcountylawlib.libguides.com/lpmcollection Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Billing & Fees Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About These Resources

The following resources contain information about billing, fees, and client trust accounts. 

 

Billing, Fees, and Client Trust Accounts

Cover Art
The 2017 Solo and Small Firm Legal Technology Guide - Sharon D. Nelson; John W. Simek; Michael C. Maschke
Call Number: KF320.A9 S66 2016
ISBN: 9781634258173
Publication Date: 2017
The 2017 Solo and Small Firm Legal Technology Guide will not replace a law firm IT director, but annually it provides the information required for the solo or small firm lawyer who is the firm IT director, like it or not. It also will serve as an indispensable guide for a local consultant who has the ability to manage a law firm's technology infrastructure, but is not aware of all of the legal-specific technology products that are available today. Some of this book will be read and reread, while other portions will be skimmed or skipped depending on the immediate technology needs of the firm. No law firm can avoid dealing with technology issues today. Lawyers in all practice settings can greatly benefit from this guide.This guidebook can serve as a law firm's trusted source of basic information as well as in-depth information. It is a quick reference guide to understand where a new product or software release fits into a law firm's overall strategy. The authors of this guide bring their long experience working with the legal profession to the pages of this volume. It is certainly the most cost-effective technology resource that any budget conscious law firm could hope to obtain.

Cover Art
The ABA Guide to Lawyer Trust Accounts - Jay G. Foonberg
Call Number: KF320.A2 F66 1996
ISBN: 1570733600
Publication Date: 1996-01-01
A comprehensive resource discussing lawyer's trust accounts. Includes rules regulating trust accounts and good trust account procedures.

Cover Art
Alternative Fees for Business Lawyers and Their Clients - Mark A. Robertson; American Bar Association, Law Practice Division Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF316 .R63 2014
ISBN: 9781627223300
Publication Date: 2015-04-16
Author addresses how large firm, small firm, and solo lawyers can implement and evaluate alternative fee arrangements in transactional matters. This essential guide also provides real case studies of business lawyers and firms successfully using alternative fee arrangements to deliver value to both the clients and the lawyers.

Cover Art
Alternative Fees for Litigators and Their Clients - Patrick J. Lamb
Call Number: KF316 .L36 2014
ISBN: 9781627223324
Publication Date: 2014-10-07
The use of non-hourly fee arrangements by lawyers and the demand for those arrangements by clients is increasing. How are you and your law firm addressing this threat to the billable hour? Are you prepared for the systemic changes needed when value is not measured in six minute increments? This book addresses how attorneys can implement and evaluate alternative fee arrangements in litigation matters. Offers lessons, insights & practical tips.

Cover Art
Being Prepared: A Lawyer's Guide for Dealing with Disability or Unexpected Events - Lloyd D. Cohen; Debra Hart Cohen
Call Number: KF300 C54 2008
ISBN: 9781604421163
Publication Date: 2009-06-16
This is an essential workbook and guide for lawyers to protect their practice against casualty or other unexpected event. It is designed to assist the lawyer in thinking about and formulating an action plan to properly protect their firm, their clients, and their family in the event of temporary disability, incapacity, or other unexpected event. Billing, fee and client trust account information included in chapter 4.

Cover Art
The Business Guide to Law - Kerry M. Lavelle
Call Number: KF315 .L365 2015
ISBN: 9781634252362
Publication Date: 2016-06-07
There are many books out there about starting a law firm and growing your practice. What makes The Business Guide to Law stand out is the focus on the business aspect. It answers all those necessary questions (and more) that are important in creating and growing a unique law firm business. Author Kerry M. Lavelle is a lawyer that started and grew a law practice, and this book grows from his experience and wisdom. This book covers, in great detail, the time needed by you, and how best to spend it to grow your law firm.

Cover Art
California Client Communications Manual - Continuing Education of the Bar (Prepared for Publication by)
ISBN: 9780762622443
Publication Date: 2015-03-31
"I looked up my complex issue...and was able to find the forms I needed right away. This is a very useful desk resource for the new as well as the experienced litigator." -- Teresa Renaker, Lewis Feinberg Lee Renaker & Jackson, Oakland Establish and maintain effective communications with your client--from initial contact and retention to the conclusion of a case. This manual provides you with more than 65 sample letters and essential forms, as well as practice tips and succinct discussion of ethical and other issues you must consider in evaluating and representing clients.

Cover Art
The California Guide to Growing & Managing a Law Office - State Bar of California
Call Number: KF318 .C282 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Growing a law practice can be a lawyer’s most rewarding and challenging professional experience. The goal of this book, is to make it less challenging and more rewarding. It picks up where The California Guide to Opening a Law Office left off, exploring challenges of growing a law practice in detail. Billing, fee and client trust account information included in chapters 3, 9, 10.

Cover Art
The California Guide to Opening & Managing a Law Office - State Bar of California
Call Number: KF318 .C28 2008
Publication Date: 2008
As a sole practitioner or the head of a small firm, you must act as so much more than just CEO; you also must also wear the hats of Chief Financial Officer, Human Resources Director, Chief Technology Officer, and more. The California Guide to Opening and Managing a Law Office is your personal executive team. Billing, fee and client trust account information included in chapters 4, 5.

Cover Art
Collecting Your Fee: Getting Paid from Intake to Invoice - Edward Poll
Call Number: KF316 .P65 2003
ISBN: 9781590311530
Publication Date: 2003-11-17
By following Ed Poll's recommendations, you can ensure that your collection process is controllable and more efficient, resulting in satisfied clients and a healthier bottom line. With CD-Rom.

Cover Art
Connecting with Your Client: Success through Improved Client Communications Techniques - Noelle C. Nelson
Call Number: KF311 .N45 2015
ISBN: 9781634251358
Publication Date: 2015-06-01
An exploration of how improved communications can enhance client relations in legal practice. Using exercises and case studies, it reveals ways to: project attentiveness and caring; create a rapport that builds trust; become a client-centered advocate; handle difficult clients; and more. Billing, fee and client trust account information included in chapter 4.

Cover Art
Easy Self-Audits for the Busy Law Office - Nancy Byerly Jones
Call Number: KF318.Z9 J66 1999
ISBN: 1570736219
Publication Date: 1999-01-01
This easy-to-use tool will assist the attorney in conducting their own self audits. Whether they want to streamline procedures, foster teamwork, or build client relations, this book will identify the practice's problem areas, as well as offer ideas to improve them. Billing, fee and client trust account information included in Part II, pp. 185–199.

Cover Art
The Essential Formbook: Comprehensive Management Tools for Lawyers - Gary A. Munneke; Anthony E. Davis
Call Number: KF318 .M85 2000
ISBN: 157073738X
Publication Date: 2000-01-01 - present
This volume aims to help you to establish profitable, affirmative client relationships so you can avoid unnecessary risks associated with malpractice and disciplinary complaints. Billing, fee and client trust account information is included in v. 1 Part II & v. 2 Part II.

Cover Art
Fee Agreement Forms Manual - Continuing Education of the Bar (Prepared for Publication by)
Call Number: KFC77.5.F43 P53 2007
ISBN: 9780762624621
Publication Date: 2016-10-07

Cover Art
Flying Solo - K. William Gibson
Call Number: KF300 .F58 2014
ISBN: 9781614388142
Publication Date: 2016-08-07
Newly revised and updated to meet the needs of today s legal professionals, Flying Solo is a comprehensive guide to establishing and maintaining a successful solo law practice. The Fifth Edition of this ABA classic includes practical information gathered from a wide range of contributors, including successful solo practitioners, law firm consultants, state and local bar practice management advisors, and law school professors. Whether you're thinking of going solo, new to the solo life, or a seasoned practitioner, Flying Solo provides time-tested answers to real-life questions. This book will help you: Make the decision to open your own law firm Choose the right practice area(s) Create a business plan and determine your fees Leave your current firm without burning bridges Set up an office space Work with traditional and alternative billing arrangements Use technology to manage your finances Develop and execute a marketing plan Gain clients through social media Plan strategically for the future And much more "

Cover Art
How to Build and Manage a Family Law Practice - Mark A. Chinn
Call Number: KF300 .C455 2006
ISBN: 9781590316955
Publication Date: 2006-12-01
Tips, strategies, tactics, forms, and real-word advice for starting - or building - a family law practice. Examples and practice tips show how to gain experience, understand the business aspects of a practice, develop and maintain the ideal client mix, and manage staff and finances. CD-ROM with forms and related materials. Billing, fee and client trust account information included in chapter 8.

Cover Art
How to Build and Manage an Entertainment Law Practice - Gary Greenberg; American Bar Association, Section of Law Practice Management Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF300 .G74 2001
ISBN: 1570739048
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
This text is designed for lawyers and other professionals looking for a resource that will shorten the learning curve for building and managing an entertainment law practice. Addresses a variety of issues critical to establishing a successful entertainment law practice; the extensive appendix contains sample agreements, forms, letters, and checklists common to entertainment law practitioners. Billing, fee and client trust account information is included in chapter 6.

Cover Art
How to Build and Manage an Environmental Law Practice - Stuart L. Somach
Call Number: KF300 .S66 2000.
ISBN: 1570737320
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Through practical examples and explanations, this volume explores how to build and manage an environmental law practice. Billing, fee and client trust account information is included in chapter 5.

Cover Art
How to Build and Manage an Estates Practice - Evans, Daniel B. American Bar Association
Call Number: KF300 .E94 2008
Publication Date: 2008
This guide is logically organized to lead the attorney through the essential stages of developing a specialty practices such as an Estate Practice. It includes everything an attorney needs to know including how to manage workload and staff and much more. Billing, fee and client trust account information is included in chapter 4.

Cover Art
How to Draft Bills Clients Rush to Pay - J. Harris Morgan; Jay G. Foonberg
Call Number: KF316 .M67 2003
ISBN: 9781590312520
Publication Date: 2004-03-09
For the first time ever, noted law practice management authorities J. Harris Morgan and Jay Foonberg have joined forces to write this newly revised and expanded second edition of an ABA classic bestseller.

Cover Art
How to Get and Keep Good Clients - Jay Foonberg
Call Number: KF316.5 .F66 2008
ISBN: 9780981854106
Publication Date: 2008-06-01
This guide offers hundreds of useful suggestions intended to grow your practice, and improve the way you do business day to day. The end result is a more client-focused, efficient, and profitable practice with everything pointed in the right direction. Includes: "Foonberg's Favorite 51 Rules of Good Client Relations for the Busy Lawyer;" "How Turning Down my First Case Led to 19 Cases;" "How to Handle People Who Hate Lawyers or the Legal System;" "Fee Allocation Formulas to Encourage Marketing;" plus: Numerous sample letters, homespun advice, and personal experiences. Billing, fee and client trust account information is included in chapter L.

Cover Art
How to Manage Your Law Office - Altman, M.A. & Weil, R.
Call Number: KF318 .A758.
Publication Date: 2013
How to Manage Your Law Office is a two-volume practical guide that provides readers with information about effective techniques in law office administration. It includes discussions on topics ranging from the intricacies of personnel management and law office ergonomics to how law offices can best take advantage of modern technology. Billing, fee and client trust account information is included in chapter 4.

Cover Art
How to Start and Build a Law Practice - Jay G. Foonberg; ABA
Call Number: KF300 .F66 2004
ISBN: 1590312473
Publication Date: 2004-04-29
Information on multiple aspects of starting your own practice including identifying the right location, finding clients, setting fees, managing your office, maintaining an ethical and responsible practice, maximizing available resources, upholding your standards, and much more. Billing, fee and client trust account information is included in Parts V & VI.

Cover Art
The Lawyer's Guide to Increasing Revenue - Arthur G. Greene; American Bar Association Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF316.5 G74 2011
ISBN: 9781614380948
Publication Date: 2012-04-16
This book offers practical tips and step-by-step plans for evaluating, tracking, and ultimately enhancing your firm's revenue stream. Significantly updated and expanded to address issues facing law firms in the twenty-first century, this new edition demonstrates how to avoid short-term solutions, look beyond cost-cutting, and develop a multi-year strategy for achieving financial growth. Using your firm's existing resources, you will discover how to best maintain client relationships and boost staff morale.

Cover Art
Letters for Litigators: Essential Communications for Opposing Counsel, Witnesses, Clients and Others - Daniel I. Small; Robin Page West
Call Number: KF170 .S53 2004
ISBN: 9781590312681
Publication Date: 2004-03-09
This publication includes numerous letters that can help simplify the task of communicating with opposing counsel, witnesses, clients, the court and others. With CD-ROM.

Cover Art
Limited Scope Legal Services: Unbundling and the Self-Help Client - Stephanie L. Kimbro
Call Number: KF300 .K59 2012
ISBN: 9781614383628
Publication Date: 2013-02-26
By providing representation for a clearly defined portion of the client's legal needs, such as preparing a legal document or making limited court appearances, lawyers can market their practice to an entirely new client base and give their firm a competitive advantage. The only book available on the topic, Limited Scope Legal Services provides lawyers of all types--from solo to big law--with practical solutions for setting up unbundling practices in their firms. Billing, fee and client trust account information is included in chapter 4.

Cover Art
Minding Your Own Business: The Solo & Small Firm Lawyer's Guide to a Profitable Practice - Ann M. Guinn
Call Number: KF318 .G85 2010
ISBN: 9781604427899
Publication Date: 2011-07-16
Strike a balance between managing your firm and practicing law with this book. Make the most of your billable hours with key management and strategies that amount to profits in the end.

Cover Art
The Organized Lawyer - Kelly Lynn Anders
Call Number: KF318 .A773 2015
ISBN: 9781611634006
Publication Date: 2015-09-22
Organizational skills and professionalism go hand-in-hand, and the topic belongs in any course related to lawyering skills. Now in its second edition, this book addresses the organizational needs and challenges of modern lawyers and law students, and it includes fresh and useful tips for even the most seasoned practitioners. We each have an organizational type that dictates how we live among our things. With topics ranging from attorney attire and effective marketing to developing attractive and efficient workspaces in the office, at home, and on the go, The Organized Lawyer is an essential reference for lawyers at all levels.

Cover Art
Solo by Choice: How to Be the Lawyer You Always Wanted to Be - Carolyn Elefant
Call Number: KF300 .E44 2011
ISBN: 9780940675629
Publication Date: 2011-10-01
Solo by Choice includes information on the planning and practical aspects of opening a solo law practice, including location, jurisdiction, practice area, home office vs. commercial space, and more. It also goes into considerable detail about other critical issues such as how to leave your firm to go solo, when to give notice, how to negotiate severance pay, how to handle the clients; even a section on 'Who owns the blog?' Billing, fee and client trust account information is included in chapter 11.

Cover Art
Succeeding As Outside Counsel - Rod Boddie
Call Number: KF311 .B63 2014
ISBN: 9781627222129
Publication Date: 2014-10-07
This book provides outside counsel with practical guidance on how to improve the level of service they provide and how to deepen their relationships with their clients all from a client's perspective. This essential guide will discuss how outside counsel have excelled, where they have fallen short, and what they need to do to serve the comprehensive needs of the client by adding value that goes far beyond any individual matter. Billing, fee and client trust account information is included in chapter 11.

Cover Art
Think Again!: Innovative Approaches to the Business of Law - Jeffrey L. Nischwitz; American Bar Association, Section of Law Practice Management Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF318 .N57 2007
ISBN: 9781590317372
Publication Date: 2007-10-03
Think Again! is about creating a client-centric law firm and delivering great client service, differentiating your law firm from other firms, and developing the specific skills and strategies needed for effective and productive relationship building and business development results. The innovative but practical advice on building an exceptional law firm begins with how to empower your people, build successful teams, and add value to your service. You'll also learn the secrets of effective selling through existing relationships, how to take advantage of everyday opportunities, and consistent and reliable ways to bring new clients into the firm. Billing, fee and client trust account information is included in chapter 23.

Cover Art
Through the Client's Eyes: New Approaches to Get Clients to Hire You Again and Again, Third Edition - Henry W. Ewalt
Call Number: KF311 .E92 2008
ISBN: 9781604420272
Publication Date: 2008-08-25
This book will help lawyers build better, stronger, and smarter relationships with their clients. From educating the client about the law to eliciting quantifiable feedback by using surveys, this updated edition covers legal marketing in an easy-to-read, well-organized and practical manner. Billing, fee and client trust account information is included in chapter 11.

Cover Art
Winning Alternatives to the Billable Hour: Strategies that Work. , Third Edition - Mark A. Robertson; James Calloway
Call Number: KF316 .R53 2008
ISBN: 9781604421286
Publication Date: 2008-12-16
This guide provides you with tools you can use in your practice to implement and evaluate alternative billing methods—including real case studies of lawyers and firms successfully using alternative billing to deliver value to both the client and the lawyer. In addition to an appendix containing sample agreements, forms, proposals, and client letters, you'll find topics addressed include: Understanding the client's perceptions of value Ethical rules and practices; Interpreting and applying the "value curve;" How to build a billing method; etc.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip