This is the "Marketing" page of the "Law Practice Management Collection Subject Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Law Practice Management Collection Subject Guide  

A guide to the San Francisco Law Library's practice management resources for attorneys.
Last Updated: Jun 29, 2017 URL: http://calcountylawlib.libguides.com/lpmcollection Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Marketing Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About These Resources

The following resources contain information about marketing and business development for your firm.

 

Marketing & Business Development

Cover Art
Build Your Practice the Logical Way: Maximize Your Client Relationships - Carol Greenwald; Steven Skyles-Mulligan
Call Number: KF311 .G74 2012
ISBN: 9781614384410
Publication Date: 2013-05-16
This guide identify strategies to keep your clients and help you grow your business, including: focus on your clients; use value to create a foundation of loyalty; master communication techniques to build a client-centric practice; research and understand your current practice. With CD-ROM.

Cover Art
Building Rainmakers - David King Keller
Call Number: KF316.5 .K453 2016
ISBN: 9781634250832
Publication Date: 2016-10-01
Every law firm needs a business development strategy. Rainmakers are the breadwinners for firms and the heart and soul of recruiting and maintaining clients. But how are rainmakers created? How do you turn a smart law school graduate into a marketing maven? And how does law firm management ensure that members of the firm are learning the art and science of being a rainmaker? Building Rainmakers: An A to Z Guide to Business Development Training is a complete encyclopedia of business development training techniques, indispensable advice for law firm management, partners, and associates looking to successfully bring in clients. Tips and tools are distilled from interviews with more than thirty leaders and innovators in rainmaking and business development training, including associates, partners, and mentors from Baker McKenzie, Stinson Leonard Street, Duane Morris, Nixon Peabody, and the LawVision Group. A clear and precise business development mentoring path can give law firm leaders confidence that the firm is creating and deploying rainmakers. Building Rainmakers provides not only business development techniques that can help your law firm train and coach very talented attorneys into very successful rainmakers, but also the metrics necessary to make sure it's happening and measure its progress. The new market reality requires a very high level of business development skills. Building Rainmakers will help you and your firm compete in today's highly competitive marketplace."

Cover Art
Building Your Practice with Pro Bono for Lawyers - Nelson Miller
Call Number: KF 336 .M55 2012
ISBN: 9781614386315
Publication Date: 2013-12-07
Building Your Practice with Pro Bono for Lawyers explains 10 pro bono opportunities that will broaden, deepen and strengthen your paying practice and legal career. Nelson Miller, an experienced pro bono practitioner, offers practical advice about helping underserved populations such as veterans, prisoners, immigrants, needy children, the homeless, and people with disabilities.

Cover Art
The Business Guide to Law - Kerry M. Lavelle
Call Number: KF315 .L365 2015
ISBN: 9781634252362
Publication Date: 2016-06-07
There are many books out there about starting a law firm and growing your practice. What makes The Business Guide to Law stand out is the focus on the business aspect. It answers all those necessary questions (and more) that are important in creating and growing a unique law firm business. Author Kerry M. Lavelle is a lawyer that started and grew a law practice, and this book grows from his experience and wisdom. This book covers, in great detail, the time needed by you, and how best to spend it to grow your law firm.

Cover Art
The California Guide to Growing & Managing a Law Office - State Bar of California
Call Number: KF318 .C282 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Growing a law practice can be a lawyer’s most rewarding and challenging professional experience. The goal of this book, is to make it less challenging and more rewarding. It picks up where The California Guide to Opening a Law Office left off, exploring challenges of growing a law practice in detail. Marketing and business development information located in chapter 5.

Cover Art
The California Guide to Opening & Managing a Law Office - State Bar of California
Call Number: KF318 .C28 2008
Publication Date: 2008
As a sole practitioner or the head of a small firm, you must act as so much more than just CEO; you also must also wear the hats of Chief Financial Officer, Human Resources Director, Chief Technology Officer, and more. The California Guide to Opening and Managing a Law Office is your personal executive team. Marketing and business development information is available in chapter 8.

Cover Art
The Consumer Law Revolution: The Lawyer's Guide to the Online Legal Marketplace - Stephanie L. Kimbro
Call Number: KF316.5. K56 2013
ISBN: 9781614387060
Publication Date: 2014-04-07
Consumers in need of legal assistance are increasingly turning to the web to find lawyers, just like they shop online for consumer products. Firms that lack a compelling online marketing presence will lose out on clients and revenue. This guide will show lawyers how to harness the marketing power offered by branded legal services networks such as Rocket Lawyer, Avvo, etc., and pull in new clients in the process.

Cover Art
Easy Self-Audits for the Busy Law Office - Nancy Byerly Jones
Call Number: KF318.Z9 J66 1999
ISBN: 1570736219
Publication Date: 1999-01-01
This easy-to-use tool will assist the attorney in conducting their own self audits. Whether they want to streamline procedures, foster teamwork, or build client relations, this book will identify the practice's problem areas, as well as offer ideas to improve them. Marketing and business development information is located in Part II pp. 137–44.

Cover Art
Flying Solo - K. William Gibson
Call Number: KF300 .F58 2014
ISBN: 9781614388142
Publication Date: 2016-08-07
Newly revised and updated to meet the needs of today s legal professionals, Flying Solo is a comprehensive guide to establishing and maintaining a successful solo law practice. The Fifth Edition of this ABA classic includes practical information gathered from a wide range of contributors, including successful solo practitioners, law firm consultants, state and local bar practice management advisors, and law school professors. Whether you're thinking of going solo, new to the solo life, or a seasoned practitioner, Flying Solo provides time-tested answers to real-life questions. This book will help you: Make the decision to open your own law firm Choose the right practice area(s) Create a business plan and determine your fees Leave your current firm without burning bridges Set up an office space Work with traditional and alternative billing arrangements Use technology to manage your finances Develop and execute a marketing plan Gain clients through social media Plan strategically for the future And much more "

Cover Art
How to Build and Manage a Family Law Practice - Mark A. Chinn
Call Number: KF300 .C455 2006
ISBN: 9781590316955
Publication Date: 2006-12-01
Tips, strategies, tactics, forms, and real-word advice for starting - or building - a family law practice. Examples and practice tips show how to gain experience, understand the business aspects of a practice, develop and maintain the ideal client mix, and manage staff and finances. CD-ROM with forms and related materials. Marketing and business development information included in chapter 6.

Cover Art
How to Build and Manage a Personal Injury Practice - K. William Gibson
Call Number: KF300 .G53 2012
ISBN: 1614381631
Publication Date: 2013-02-26
Newly revised to reflect the changing world of personal injury law, this edition contains updated information about the latest legal software, including cloud-based products, and practical tips for small firms and solo practitioners. Marketing and business development information included in chapter 5. With CD-Rom.

Cover Art
How to Build and Manage an Entertainment Law Practice - Gary Greenberg; American Bar Association, Section of Law Practice Management Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF300 .G74 2001
ISBN: 1570739048
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
This text is designed for lawyers and other professionals looking for a resource that will shorten the learning curve for building and managing an entertainment law practice. Marketing and business development information included in chapters 4 & 7.

Cover Art
How to Build and Manage an Estates Practice - Evans, Daniel B. American Bar Association
Call Number: KF300 .E94 2008
Publication Date: 2008
This guide is logically organized to lead the attorney through the essential stages of developing a specialty practices such as an Estate Practice. It includes everything an attorney needs to know including how to manage workload and staff and much more. Marketing and business development information included in chapter 2.

Cover Art
How to Capture and Keep Clients - Jennifer J. Rose (Editor)
Call Number: KF316.5 .H69 2015
ISBN: 9781634252140
Publication Date: 2016-04-07
In this new second edition, How To Capture and Keep Clients: Marketing Strategies for Lawyers, the best and most innovative solo and small firm lawyers give the reader their secrets, approaches, and strategies to that age-old puzzle of growing your law firm. Through this wealth of savvy advice, the reader will learn how to: ask for business; attract and keep clients; network; partner with other lawyers; build a virtual law firm; market a specialty or boutique practice; market to ethnic communities; market in a small town; use technology in client development; create a service-centered firm; brand your law firm just like the big firms do; make marketing part of your daily practice; and avoid ethical marketing mistakes. The book is packed with strategies on how to overcome obstacles and position the lawyer for lifelong success.

Cover Art
How to Get and Keep Good Clients - Jay Foonberg
Call Number: KF316.5 .F66 2008
ISBN: 9780981854106
Publication Date: 2008-06-01
This guide offers hundreds of useful suggestions intended to grow your practice, and improve the way you do business day to day. The end result is a more client-focused, efficient, and profitable practice with everything pointed in the right direction. Includes: "Foonberg's Favorite 51 Rules of Good Client Relations for the Busy Lawyer;" "How Turning Down my First Case Led to 19 Cases;" "How to Handle People Who Hate Lawyers or the Legal System;" "Fee Allocation Formulas to Encourage Marketing;" plus: Numerous sample letters, homespun advice, and personal experiences

Cover Art
How to Manage Your Law Office - Altman, M.A. & Weil, R.
Call Number: KF318 .A758.
Publication Date: 2013
How to Manage Your Law Office is a two-volume practical guide that provides readers with information about effective techniques in law office administration. It includes discussions on topics ranging from the intricacies of personnel management and law office ergonomics to how law offices can best take advantage of modern technology. Marketing and business development information included in chapter 6.

Cover Art
How to Start and Build a Law Practice - Jay G. Foonberg; ABA
Call Number: KF300 .F66 2004
ISBN: 1590312473
Publication Date: 2004-04-29
Information on multiple aspects of starting your own practice including identifying the right location, finding clients, setting fees, managing your office, maintaining an ethical and responsible practice, maximizing available resources, upholding your standards, and much more. Marketing and business development information included in Part IV.

Cover Art
Internet Branding for Lawyers: Building the Client Centered Website - Jeff Lantz
Call Number: KF320.A9 L365 2012
ISBN: 9781614382935
Publication Date: 2012-03-01
This book provides step-by-step direction on how to develop a solid brand and website that will attract the clients your firm desires. The Client-Centered Website approach is fundamentally different from the "traditional" law firm website approach, which focuses on the firm instead of on how clients are served. You'll learn how to avoid the pitfalls of the "traditional" law firm website, as well as how to use successful branding and a Client-Centered Website as the cornerstone of your firm's marketing program. The Client-Centered Website approach is fundamentally different from the "traditional" law firm website approach, which focuses on the firm instead of on how clients are served. You'll learn how to avoid the pitfalls of the "traditional" law firm website, as well as how to use successful branding and a Client-Centered Website as the cornerstone of your firm's marketing program.

Cover Art
The Lawyer's Field Guide to Effective Business Development - William J. Flannery
Call Number: KF316.5 .F57 2014
ISBN: 9781627228862
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Business growth and client relationship management are two key components to a thriving law practice. In The Lawyer s Field Guide to Effective Business Development, Second Edition, Flannery proves that any lawyer can be effective as a client relationship manager and advocate. This practical guide shares detailed and sensible tactics for winning and retaining long-term, profitable clients in an increasingly competitive and changing legal market.

Cover Art
The Lawyer's Guide to Marketing on the Internet - Deborah McMurray; Gregory H. Siskind
Call Number: KF316.5 .S57 2017
ISBN: 9781634257374
Publication Date: 2017-01-01
Transform your website, e-mail, social media, and overall online marketing strategy! Get closer to your target prospects and clients in ways that are proven and meaningful to buyers of legal services. Choose a mix of tools that will measurably move the needle using the advice in The Lawyer’s Guide to Marketing on the Internet, Fourth Edition. Learn about: internet marketing strategies and how to build your own plan; content marketing that targets and speaks to your desired audiences; today’s websites—from “must do…” to “definitely don’t…”; the Ten Foundational Best Practices for law firm websites; the latest survey of the AmLaw 100 websites; today’s technologies and platforms; website timelines, budgets, hosting, and contracts; announcing, growing, and promoting your website; mobile sites—so critical today!; social media ins and outs; e-mail marketing; multimedia content including videos, podcasts, and webinars; search engine optimization (SEO); website vendors and other consultants; analytics and measuring your ROI; the ethics of client development using technology and the Internet.

Cover Art
A Lawyer's Guide to Networking - Susan R. Sneider; Center for Professional Development (American Bar Association) Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF316.5 .S64 2016
ISBN: 9781634253888
Publication Date: 2016-10-01
This book contains a compilation of quotes about networking from 60 individuals, most of whom are lawyers or judges. The book contains worksheets and exercises designed to help the readers build their own career networks. The result is a career-development guidebook for younger lawyers or those wishing to build out a new practice area.

Cover Art
The Lawyer's Ultimate Guide to Online Leads - Ken Matejka
Call Number: KF316.5 .M38 2017
ISBN: 9780986161308
Publication Date: 2015-02-24
(This book is a 2017 update to the 2016 book of the same name, current as of January 2017.) 37,000 people graduate from law school each year, competing for a shrinking pool of clients as more self-help solutions come online. You may be better or more cost-effective or more experienced than your competitors, but the growth of your law practice in 2017 depends on visibility alone. This book describes the current landscape of the Internet as it pertains to lead generation for the solo practitioner and small law firm. It provides practical information about what you can do to evaluate the the current state of your online marketing efforts and what you can do to refine it to make your marketing investment as productive as it can be.

Cover Art
Limited Scope Legal Services: Unbundling and the Self-Help Client - Stephanie L. Kimbro
Call Number: KF300 .K59 2012
ISBN: 9781614383628
Publication Date: 2013-02-26
By providing representation for a clearly defined portion of the client's legal needs, such as preparing a legal document or making limited court appearances, lawyers can market their practice to an entirely new client base and give their firm a competitive advantage. The only book available on the topic, Limited Scope Legal Services provides lawyers of all types--from solo to big law--with practical solutions for setting up unbundling practices in their firms. Marketing and business development information included in chapter 8.

Cover Art
Minding Your Own Business: The Solo & Small Firm Lawyer's Guide to a Profitable Practice - Ann M. Guinn
Call Number: KF318 .G85 2010
ISBN: 9781604427899
Publication Date: 2011-07-16
Strike a balance between managing your firm and practicing law with this book. Make the most of your billable hours with key management and strategies that amount to profits in the end.

Cover Art
Personal Branding in One Hour for Lawyers - Katy Goshtasbi
Call Number: KF316.5 .G67 2013
ISBN: 9781627221597
Publication Date: 2014-08-07
To survive and thrive, lawyers must develop their own intentional personal brand to distinguish themselves from the competition. In Personal Branding in One Hour for Lawyers, personal branding expert and experienced attorney Katy Goshtasbi explains how attorneys can highlight their unique talents and abilities, manage their perceptions, and achieve greater success as a lawyer in the process.

Cover Art
The Organized Lawyer - Kelly Lynn Anders
Call Number: KF318 .A773 2015
ISBN: 9781611634006
Publication Date: 2015-09-22
Organizational skills and professionalism go hand-in-hand, and the topic belongs in any course related to lawyering skills. Now in its second edition, this book addresses the organizational needs and challenges of modern lawyers and law students, and it includes fresh and useful tips for even the most seasoned practitioners. We each have an organizational type that dictates how we live among our things. With topics ranging from attorney attire and effective marketing to developing attractive and efficient workspaces in the office, at home, and on the go, The Organized Lawyer is an essential reference for lawyers at all levels.

Cover Art
The Reluctant Rainmaker (Second Edition) - Julie Fleming
Call Number: KF316.5 F54 2014
ISBN: 0991125118
Publication Date: 2014-02-01

Cover Art
Renegade Lawyer Marketing - Benjamin W. Glass III
Call Number: KF316.5 G53 2015
ISBN: 9781633850804
Publication Date: 2015-01-01

Cover Art
Smart Marketing for the Small Firm Practitioner - Kenneth A. Vercammen; American Bar Association, General Practice, Solo and Small Firm Division Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF316.5 .V47 2014
ISBN: 9781627224840
Publication Date: 2014-06-01
This book thoroughly explores today’s marketing landscape and outlines its many facets for you in concise and easy to understand terms. Includes information on: Creating a blog for free; Leveraging social networking sites; Best practices for marketing within the law office; etc. Guide includes CD-ROM with digital copies of all the exhibits used in the book and the various websites that are referenced.

Cover Art
Solo by Choice: How to Be the Lawyer You Always Wanted to Be - Carolyn Elefant
Call Number: KF300 .E44 2011
ISBN: 9780940675629
Publication Date: 2011-10-01
Solo by Choice includes information on the planning and practical aspects of opening a solo law practice, including location, jurisdiction, practice area, home office vs. commercial space, and more. It also goes into considerable detail about other critical issues such as how to leave your firm to go solo, when to give notice, how to negotiate severance pay, how to handle the clients; even a section on 'Who owns the blog?' Marketing and business development information included in chapters 14 – 17.

Cover Art
Succeeding As Outside Counsel - Rod Boddie
Call Number: KF311 .B63 2014
ISBN: 9781627222129
Publication Date: 2014-10-07
This book provides outside counsel with practical guidance on how to improve the level of service they provide and how to deepen their relationships with their clients all from a client's perspective. This essential guide will discuss how outside counsel have excelled, where they have fallen short, and what they need to do to serve the comprehensive needs of the client by adding value that goes far beyond any individual matter. Marketing and business development information included in Part III.

Cover Art
The Survival Guide to Implementing Effective Law Firm Management Strategies - Arthur G. Greene; Sandra J. Boyer; American Bar Association, Law Practice Division Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF318 .G7374 2015
ISBN: 9781634250603
Publication Date: 2016-02-07
This book provides you with the groundwork and policies to create a positive law firm environment and business success. Divided into five parts on culture, planning, partnerships, management, and finances, this guide will help you: understand why the culture in the firm is important to its success; develop a plan and vision for the future of the firm; construct marketing plans to recruit and retain new clients; devise a plan to build healthy partnerships in the firm and with your clients; etc. Marketing and business development information included in chapter 4.

Cover Art
Think Again!: Innovative Approaches to the Business of Law - Jeffrey L. Nischwitz; American Bar Association, Section of Law Practice Management Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF318 .N57 2007
ISBN: 9781590317372
Publication Date: 2007-10-03
Think Again! is about creating a client-centric law firm and delivering great client service, differentiating your law firm from other firms, and developing the specific skills and strategies needed for effective and productive relationship building and business development results. The innovative but practical advice on building an exceptional law firm begins with how to empower your people, build successful teams, and add value to your service. You'll also learn the secrets of effective selling through existing relationships, how to take advantage of everyday opportunities, and consistent and reliable ways to bring new clients into the firm.

Cover Art
Virtual Law Practice - Stephanie L. Kimbro; American Bar Association, Law Practice Management Division Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF320.A9 K56 2015
ISBN: 9781634250344
Publication Date: 2015-07-07
The Internet has made it easier for potential clients to find legal services. Virtual law firms have revolutionized the delivery of legal services, lowering costs as well as evening the playing field. Whether you are a large law firm or a solo practitioner, there are business models of delivering legal services online that can bring your law practice up to speed with the 21st century legal marketplace. What are you doing to stay competitive? Do you have the know-how to responsibly incorporate technology and online delivery into your existing law firm? The revised and updated Virtual Law Practice is the one resource you need to take advantage of this fast-growing market. This book will help you: .Identify and develop a law firm business model for the online delivery of legal services .Successfully set up and manage a virtual law firm .Increase law firm revenue by responsibly implementing the delivery of online legal services .Make use of the latest technology .Create a successful marketing strategy for the delivery of legal services online .Understand state ethics and advisory opinions .Find more flexibility and work/life balance in the legal profession Stephanie Kimbro's practical guide also provides case studies of law firms that successfully integrate virtual law practice into their traditional business models along with client scenarios to show how web-based technology may be used by legal professionals to work with online clients and avoid malpractice risks."

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip