This is the "Risk Managment" page of the "Law Practice Management Collection Subject Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Law Practice Management Collection Subject Guide  

A guide to the San Francisco Law Library's practice management resources for attorneys.
Last Updated: Jun 6, 2017 URL: http://calcountylawlib.libguides.com/lpmcollection Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Risk Managment Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About These Resources

The following resources contain information about emergency preparedness, insurance, and risk managment for your firm.

 

Emergency Preparedness, Insurance, and Risk Management

Cover Art
The California Guide to Growing & Managing a Law Office - State Bar of California
Call Number: KF318 .C282 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Growing a law practice can be a lawyer’s most rewarding and challenging professional experience. The goal of this book, is to make it less challenging and more rewarding. It picks up where The California Guide to Opening a Law Office left off, exploring challenges of growing a law practice in detail. Emergency preparedness, insurance and risk management information is included in chapter 8.

Cover Art
The California Guide to Opening & Managing a Law Office - State Bar of California
Call Number: KF318 .C28 2008
Publication Date: 2008
As a sole practitioner or the head of a small firm, you must act as so much more than just CEO; you also must also wear the hats of Chief Financial Officer, Human Resources Director, Chief Technology Officer, and more. The California Guide to Opening and Managing a Law Office is your personal executive team. Emergency preparedness, insurance and risk management information is included in chapter 8.

Cover Art
Being Prepared: A Lawyer's Guide for Dealing with Disability or Unexpected Events - Lloyd D. Cohen; Debra Hart Cohen
Call Number: KF300 C54 2008
ISBN: 9781604421163
Publication Date: 2009-06-16
This is an essential workbook and guide for lawyers to protect their practice against casualty or other unexpected event. It is designed to assist the lawyer in thinking about and formulating an action plan to properly protect their firm, their clients, and their family in the event of temporary disability, incapacity, or other unexpected event.

Cover Art
Easy Self-Audits for the Busy Law Office - Nancy Byerly Jones
Call Number: KF318.Z9 J66 1999
ISBN: 1570736219
Publication Date: 1999-01-01
This easy-to-use tool will assist the attorney in conducting their own self audits. Whether they want to streamline procedures, foster teamwork, or build client relations, this book will identify the practice's problem areas, as well as offer ideas to improve them. Emergency preparedness, insurance and risk management information is included in Part II, pp. 123–27.

Cover Art
The Essential Formbook: Comprehensive Management Tools for Lawyers - Gary A. Munneke; Anthony E. Davis
Call Number: KF318 .M85 2000
ISBN: 157073738X
Publication Date: 2000-01-01 - present
This volume aims to help you to establish profitable, affirmative client relationships so you can avoid unnecessary risks associated with malpractice and disciplinary complaints. Emergency preparedness, insurance and risk management information is included in Volume 4.

Cover Art
Flying Solo - K. William Gibson
Call Number: KF300 .F58 2014
ISBN: 9781614388142
Publication Date: 2016-08-07
Newly revised and updated to meet the needs of today s legal professionals, Flying Solo is a comprehensive guide to establishing and maintaining a successful solo law practice. The Fifth Edition of this ABA classic includes practical information gathered from a wide range of contributors, including successful solo practitioners, law firm consultants, state and local bar practice management advisors, and law school professors. Whether you're thinking of going solo, new to the solo life, or a seasoned practitioner, Flying Solo provides time-tested answers to real-life questions. This book will help you: Make the decision to open your own law firm Choose the right practice area(s) Create a business plan and determine your fees Leave your current firm without burning bridges Set up an office space Work with traditional and alternative billing arrangements Use technology to manage your finances Develop and execute a marketing plan Gain clients through social media Plan strategically for the future And much more "

Cover Art
Legal Malpractice: The Law Office Guide to Purchasing Legal Malpractice Insurance - Mallen, Ronald E.
Call Number: KF313 .L39 2016
The Law Office Guide to Purchasing provides guidance in evaluating your firm's malpractice insurance needs so that you make informed decisions on the coverages available. Separate chapters walk you through the process how to locate insurance, how to fill out the applications, how to evaluate competitive bids and acquire the right coverage on favorable terms, and how to maintain and use your insurance.

Cover Art
Locked Down - Sharon D. Nelson; David G. Ries; John W. Simek
Call Number: KF320.A9 N45 2016
ISBN: 9781634254144
Publication Date: 2016-08-07
In an age where lawyers frequently conduct business across wireless networks using smartphones and laptops, how can attorneys safeguard client data and confidential information? This second edition of Locked Down explains the wide variety of information security risks facing law firms and how lawyers can best protect their data from these threats--with any budget. Written in clear, non-technical language that any lawyer can understand, this book will help you: create secure passwords and store them safely; assess the existing security risks at your firm - server rooms, cleaning crews, guests, alarm systems, and more; work securely from a laptop or smartphone; protect your mobile devices from theft; authenticate users and encrypt your data; maintain e-mail integrity; secure your wired or wireless network; effectively wipe data from a hard drive before disposal; develop an information security checklist for your firm; investigate, contain, and recover from a security breach.

Cover Art
Risk Management - Anthony E. Davis; Katie M. Lachter; American Bar Association, Section of Law Practice Management Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF313 .D38 2015
ISBN: 9781627223263
Publication Date: 2016-07-07
When the second edition of Risk Management: Survival Tools for Law Firms was published in 2007, the legal landscape was very different. Since then developments like new technologies, the financial crisis, and the rise of non-lawyers as major providers of legal services have all transformed the legal world immeasurably. In this new environment, managing risk no longer means simply avoiding malpractice claims and staying ethical. It now requires lawyers and law firms to address an increasingly complex world of rules and regulations in order to keep firms both respected and profitable. This all-new, updated third edition by Anthony E. Davis and Katie M. Lachter moves past recognizing risk and addresses the realities of managing risk. From managing employees to performing appropriate client intake due diligence, this book offers a practical approach to evaluating the state of risk management within your firm, and to implementing a program to control it. Topics include: strategies for tailoring a risk management program to your firm's specific needs; how a good plan will improve your firm's profitability; when and why to refuse a client's business; how the rise of technology has affected risk for the modern law practice; the need for an in-firm general counsel; and self-assessment questionnaires for evaluating every aspect of law firm risk management.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip