This is the "Records Managment" page of the "Law Practice Management Collection Subject Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Law Practice Management Collection Subject Guide  

A guide to the San Francisco Law Library's practice management resources for attorneys.
Last Updated: Mar 23, 2017 URL: http://calcountylawlib.libguides.com/lpmcollection Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Records Managment Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About These Resources

The following resources contain information about effective methods of case and research management for your firm.

 

Case and Records Management

Cover Art
The 2017 Solo and Small Firm Legal Technology Guide - Sharon D. Nelson; John W. Simek; Michael C. Maschke
Call Number: KF320.A9 S66 2017
ISBN: 9781634258173
Publication Date: 2017
The 2017 Solo and Small Firm Legal Technology Guide will not replace a law firm IT director, but annually it provides the information required for the solo or small firm lawyer who is the firm IT director, like it or not. It also will serve as an indispensable guide for a local consultant who has the ability to manage a law firm's technology infrastructure, but is not aware of all of the legal-specific technology products that are available today. Some of this book will be read and reread, while other portions will be skimmed or skipped depending on the immediate technology needs of the firm. No law firm can avoid dealing with technology issues today. Lawyers in all practice settings can greatly benefit from this guide.This guidebook can serve as a law firm's trusted source of basic information as well as in-depth information. It is a quick reference guide to understand where a new product or software release fits into a law firm's overall strategy. The authors of this guide bring their long experience working with the legal profession to the pages of this volume. It is certainly the most cost-effective technology resource that any budget conscious law firm could hope to obtain.

Cover Art
California Client Communications Manual - Continuing Education of the Bar (Prepared for Publication by)
ISBN: 9780762622443
Publication Date: 2015-03-31
"I looked up my complex issue...and was able to find the forms I needed right away. This is a very useful desk resource for the new as well as the experienced litigator." -- Teresa Renaker, Lewis Feinberg Lee Renaker & Jackson, Oakland Establish and maintain effective communications with your client--from initial contact and retention to the conclusion of a case. This manual provides you with more than 65 sample letters and essential forms, as well as practice tips and succinct discussion of ethical and other issues you must consider in evaluating and representing clients.

Cover Art
Connecting with Your Client: Success through Improved Client Communications Techniques - Noelle C. Nelson
Call Number: KF311 .N45 2015
ISBN: 9781634251358
Publication Date: 2015-06-01
An exploration of how improved communications can enhance client relations in legal practice. Using exercises and case studies, it reveals ways to: project attentiveness and caring; create a rapport that builds trust; become a client-centered advocate; handle difficult clients; and more. Case & records management information located in chapter 4.

Cover Art
Easy Self-Audits for the Busy Law Office - Nancy Byerly Jones
Call Number: KF318.Z9 J66 1999
ISBN: 1570736219
Publication Date: 1999-01-01
This easy-to-use tool will assist the attorney in conducting their own self audits. Whether they want to streamline procedures, foster teamwork, or build client relations, this book will identify the practice's problem areas, as well as offer ideas to improve them. Case & records management information is located in Part II pp. 83–89 & 129–136.

Cover Art
The Essential Formbook: Comprehensive Management Tools for Lawyers - Gary A. Munneke; Anthony E. Davis
Call Number: KF318 .M85 2000
ISBN: 157073738X
Publication Date: 2000-01-01 - present
This volume aims to help you to establish profitable, affirmative client relationships so you can avoid unnecessary risks associated with malpractice and disciplinary complaints. Case & records management information is included in Volume 3, Part I. CD-ROM available.

Cover Art
Flying Solo - K. William Gibson
Call Number: KF300 .F58 2014
ISBN: 9781614388142
Publication Date: 2016-08-07
Newly revised and updated to meet the needs of today s legal professionals, Flying Solo is a comprehensive guide to establishing and maintaining a successful solo law practice. The Fifth Edition of this ABA classic includes practical information gathered from a wide range of contributors, including successful solo practitioners, law firm consultants, state and local bar practice management advisors, and law school professors. Whether you're thinking of going solo, new to the solo life, or a seasoned practitioner, Flying Solo provides time-tested answers to real-life questions. This book will help you: Make the decision to open your own law firm Choose the right practice area(s) Create a business plan and determine your fees Leave your current firm without burning bridges Set up an office space Work with traditional and alternative billing arrangements Use technology to manage your finances Develop and execute a marketing plan Gain clients through social media Plan strategically for the future And much more "

Cover Art
How to Build and Manage a Family Law Practice - Mark A. Chinn
Call Number: KF300 .C455 2006
ISBN: 9781590316955
Publication Date: 2006-12-01
Tips, strategies, tactics, forms, and real-word advice for starting - or building - a family law practice. Examples and practice tips show how to gain experience, understand the business aspects of a practice, develop and maintain the ideal client mix, and manage staff and finances. CD-ROM with forms and related materials. Case and records management information included in chapters 5, 14 - 16.

Cover Art
How to Build and Manage a Personal Injury Practice - K. William Gibson
Call Number: KF300 .G53 2012
ISBN: 1614381631
Publication Date: 2013-02-26
Newly revised to reflect the changing world of personal injury law, this edition contains updated information about the latest legal software, including cloud-based products, and practical tips for small firms and solo practitioners. Case and records management information located in chapters 9 - 11. With CD-Rom.

Cover Art
How to Build and Manage an Entertainment Law Practice - Gary Greenberg; American Bar Association, Section of Law Practice Management Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF300 .G74 2001
ISBN: 1570739048
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
This text is designed for lawyers and other professionals looking for a resource that will shorten the learning curve for building and managing an entertainment law practice. Case and records management information is available in chapters 11 and 12.

Cover Art
How to Build and Manage an Estates Practice - Evans, Daniel B. American Bar Association
Call Number: KF300 .E94 2008
Publication Date: 2008
This guide is logically organized to lead the attorney through the essential stages of developing a specialty practices such as an Estate Practice. It includes everything an attorney needs to know including how to manage workload and staff and much more. Case and records management information included in chapters 6 & 7. CD-ROM available.

Cover Art
How to Manage Your Law Office - Altman, M.A. & Weil, R.
Call Number: KF318 .A758.
Publication Date: 2013
How to Manage Your Law Office is a two-volume practical guide that provides readers with information about effective techniques in law office administration. It includes discussions on topics ranging from the intricacies of personnel management and law office ergonomics to how law offices can best take advantage of modern technology. Case and records management information included in chapter 10.

Cover Art
How to Start and Build a Law Practice - Jay G. Foonberg; ABA
Call Number: KF300 .F66 2004
ISBN: 1590312473
Publication Date: 2004-04-29
Information on multiple aspects of starting your own practice including identifying the right location, finding clients, setting fees, managing your office, maintaining an ethical and responsible practice, maximizing available resources, upholding your standards, and much more. Case and records management information included in part VI.

Cover Art
Law Office Policy and Procedures Manual - Robert C. Wert; Howard I. Hatoff; Berne Rolston
Call Number: KF318 .R64 2006
ISBN: 9781590317693
Publication Date: 2007-08-29
This manual helps medium and large law firms increase productivity by providing a model manual for law office policies and procedures. The book contains numerous sample forms and documents, as well as extensive bibliographies. A CD containing the entire text of the manual is included, allowing customization of the manual for particular user needs. Case and records management information included in section 10.

Cover Art
Law Office Procedures Manual for Solos and Small Firms - Demetrios Dimitriou
Call Number: KF318 .D56 2005
ISBN: 1590314794
Publication Date: 2005-11-02
This step-by-step guide is the key to developing a tailor-made office procedures manual, containing everything from client data sheets and docket control systems, to employee benefits and file management policies. In addition, the entire text is included on CD-ROM for easy customization. Case and records management information included in Section III, Parts 5, 6.

Cover Art
The Lawyer's Guide to Records Management and Retention - George C. Cunningham
Call Number: KF320.R42 C86 2014
ISBN: 9781627222341
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Ensure you're following the legal and ethics rules for maintaining hardcopy and electronic documents with this newly updated edition of an ABA bestseller. Learn how to minimize risk to your firm and your clients, improve your productivity, and decrease costs by following key records management guidelines.

Cover Art
The Organized Lawyer - Kelly Lynn Anders
Call Number: KF318 .A773 2015
ISBN: 9781611634006
Publication Date: 2015-09-22
Organizational skills and professionalism go hand-in-hand, and the topic belongs in any course related to lawyering skills. Now in its second edition, this book addresses the organizational needs and challenges of modern lawyers and law students, and it includes fresh and useful tips for even the most seasoned practitioners. We each have an organizational type that dictates how we live among our things. With topics ranging from attorney attire and effective marketing to developing attractive and efficient workspaces in the office, at home, and on the go, The Organized Lawyer is an essential reference for lawyers at all levels.

Cover Art
Wills, Trusts, and Technology: An Estate & Trust Lawyer's Guide to Automation - Daniel B. Evans
Call Number: KF320. A9 E92 2004
ISBN: 9781590312810
Publication Date: 2004-08-11
This unique resource demonstrates how drafting, database, and case management systems can make your estates practice more efficient and productive.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip