This is the "Financials & Profitability" page of the "Law Practice Management Collection Subject Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Law Practice Management Collection Subject Guide  

A guide to the San Francisco Law Library's practice management resources for attorneys.
Last Updated: Mar 23, 2017 URL: http://calcountylawlib.libguides.com/lpmcollection Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Financials & Profitability Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About These Resources

The following resources contain information about managing your firm's finances and maintaining profitability.

 

Law Firm Financials and Profitability

Cover Art
Being Prepared: A Lawyer's Guide for Dealing with Disability or Unexpected Events - Lloyd D. Cohen; Debra Hart Cohen
Call Number: KF300 C54 2008
ISBN: 9781604421163
Publication Date: 2009-06-16
This is an essential workbook and guide for lawyers to protect their practice against casualty or other unexpected event. It is designed to assist the lawyer in thinking about and formulating an action plan to properly protect their firm, their clients, and their family in the event of temporary disability, incapacity, or other unexpected event.

Cover Art
The Business Guide to Law - Kerry M. Lavelle
Call Number: KF315 .L365 2015
ISBN: 9781634252362
Publication Date: 2016-06-07
There are many books out there about starting a law firm and growing your practice. What makes The Business Guide to Law stand out is the focus on the business aspect. It answers all those necessary questions (and more) that are important in creating and growing a unique law firm business. Author Kerry M. Lavelle is a lawyer that started and grew a law practice, and this book grows from his experience and wisdom. This book covers, in great detail, the time needed by you, and how best to spend it to grow your law firm.

Cover Art
The California Guide to Growing & Managing a Law Office - State Bar of California
Call Number: KF318 .C282 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Growing a law practice can be a lawyer’s most rewarding and challenging professional experience. The goal of this book, is to make it less challenging and more rewarding. It picks up where The California Guide to Opening a Law Office left off, exploring challenges of growing a law practice in detail. Financial and profitability information is included in chapter 3.

Cover Art
The California Guide to Opening & Managing a Law Office - State Bar of California
Call Number: KF318 .C28 2008
Publication Date: 2008
As a sole practitioner or the head of a small firm, you must act as so much more than just CEO; you also must also wear the hats of Chief Financial Officer, Human Resources Director, Chief Technology Officer, and more. The California Guide to Opening and Managing a Law Office is your personal executive team. Financial and profitability information is located in chapter 5.

Cover Art
The Essential Formbook: Comprehensive Management Tools for Lawyers - Gary A. Munneke; Anthony E. Davis
Call Number: KF318 .M85 2000
ISBN: 157073738X
Publication Date: 2000-01-01 - present
This volume aims to help you to establish profitable, affirmative client relationships so you can avoid unnecessary risks associated with malpractice and disciplinary complaints. Financial and profitability information is included in Volume 3, Part II.

Cover Art
Flying Solo - K. William Gibson
Call Number: KF300 .F58 2014
ISBN: 9781614388142
Publication Date: 2016-08-07
Newly revised and updated to meet the needs of today s legal professionals, Flying Solo is a comprehensive guide to establishing and maintaining a successful solo law practice. The Fifth Edition of this ABA classic includes practical information gathered from a wide range of contributors, including successful solo practitioners, law firm consultants, state and local bar practice management advisors, and law school professors. Whether you're thinking of going solo, new to the solo life, or a seasoned practitioner, Flying Solo provides time-tested answers to real-life questions. This book will help you: Make the decision to open your own law firm Choose the right practice area(s) Create a business plan and determine your fees Leave your current firm without burning bridges Set up an office space Work with traditional and alternative billing arrangements Use technology to manage your finances Develop and execute a marketing plan Gain clients through social media Plan strategically for the future And much more "

Cover Art
How to Build and Manage a Family Law Practice - Mark A. Chinn
Call Number: KF300 .C455 2006
ISBN: 9781590316955
Publication Date: 2006-12-01
Tips, strategies, tactics, forms, and real-word advice for starting - or building - a family law practice. Examples and practice tips show how to gain experience, understand the business aspects of a practice, develop and maintain the ideal client mix, and manage staff and finances. CD-ROM with forms and related materials. Financial and profitability information included in chapter 18.

Cover Art
How to Manage Your Law Office - Altman, M.A. & Weil, R.
Call Number: KF318 .A758.
Publication Date: 2013
How to Manage Your Law Office is a two-volume practical guide that provides readers with information about effective techniques in law office administration. It includes discussions on topics ranging from the intricacies of personnel management and law office ergonomics to how law offices can best take advantage of modern technology. Financial & profitability information included in chapter 11.

Cover Art
How to Start and Build a Law Practice - Jay G. Foonberg; ABA
Call Number: KF300 .F66 2004
ISBN: 1590312473
Publication Date: 2004-04-29
Information on multiple aspects of starting your own practice including identifying the right location, finding clients, setting fees, managing your office, maintaining an ethical and responsible practice, maximizing available resources, upholding your standards, and much more. Financial and profitability information included in part VI.

Cover Art
Law Firm Partnership Agreements - Leslie D. Corwin; Arthur J. Ciampi
Call Number: KF318 .C667 1998
ISBN: 1588520803
Publication Date: 1998-01-01
This book tackles the key life events of a law firm including partnership information, setting compensation, partner admissions and departures, retirement, dissolution, termination of the partnership, mergers and acquisitions, and much more. Financial and profitability information included in chapter 5.


Cover Art
The Lawyer's Guide to Increasing Revenue - Arthur G. Greene; American Bar Association Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF316.5 G74 2011
ISBN: 1614380945
Publication Date: 2012-04-16
This book offers practical tips and step-by-step plans for evaluating, tracking, and ultimately enhancing your firm's revenue stream. Significantly updated and expanded to address issues facing law firms in the twenty-first century, this new edition demonstrates how to avoid short-term solutions, look beyond cost-cutting, and develop a multi-year strategy for achieving financial growth. Using your firm's existing resources, you will discover how to best maintain client relationships and boost staff morale.

Cover Art
Minding Your Own Business: The Solo & Small Firm Lawyer's Guide to a Profitable Practice - Ann M. Guinn
Call Number: KF318 .G85 2010
ISBN: 9781604427899
Publication Date: 2011-07-16
Strike a balance between managing your firm and practicing law with this book. Make the most of your billable hours with key management and strategies that amount to profits in the end.

Cover Art
The Organized Lawyer - Kelly Lynn Anders
Call Number: KF318 .A773 2015
ISBN: 9781611634006
Publication Date: 2015-09-22
Organizational skills and professionalism go hand-in-hand, and the topic belongs in any course related to lawyering skills. Now in its second edition, this book addresses the organizational needs and challenges of modern lawyers and law students, and it includes fresh and useful tips for even the most seasoned practitioners. We each have an organizational type that dictates how we live among our things. With topics ranging from attorney attire and effective marketing to developing attractive and efficient workspaces in the office, at home, and on the go, The Organized Lawyer is an essential reference for lawyers at all levels.

Cover Art
Solo by Choice: How to Be the Lawyer You Always Wanted to Be - Carolyn Elefant
Call Number: KF300 .E44 2011
ISBN: 9780940675629
Publication Date: 2011-10-01
Solo by Choice includes information on the planning and practical aspects of opening a solo law practice, including location, jurisdiction, practice area, home office vs. commercial space, and more. It also goes into considerable detail about other critical issues such as how to leave your firm to go solo, when to give notice, how to negotiate severance pay, how to handle the clients; even a section on 'Who owns the blog?' Financial & profitability information included in chapter 9.

Cover Art
The Survival Guide to Implementing Effective Law Firm Management Strategies - Arthur G. Greene; Sandra J. Boyer; American Bar Association, Law Practice Division Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF318 .G7374 2015
ISBN: 9781634250603
Publication Date: 2016-02-07
Divided into five parts on culture, planning, partnerships, management, and finances, this guide will help you: understand why the culture in the firm is important to its success; develop a plan and vision for the future of the firm; construct marketing plans to recruit and retain new clients; devise a plan to build healthy partnerships in the firm and with your clients; outline delegation strategies and techniques for partners and associates; build a strong recruitment and retention plan for associates; formulate a system for compensation of partners, associates, and paralegals; and determine how to improve revenue. Financial and profitability information included in Part V.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip