This is the "Managing Staff & Attorneys" page of the "Law Practice Management Collection Subject Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Law Practice Management Collection Subject Guide  

A guide to the San Francisco Law Library's practice management resources for attorneys.
Last Updated: Apr 26, 2017 URL: http://calcountylawlib.libguides.com/lpmcollection Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Managing Staff & Attorneys Print Page
  Search: 
 

About These Resources

The following resources contain information about managing your firm's staff, associates, and partners.

      
     

    Managing Law Firm Staff, Associates, and Partners

    Cover Art
    The Business Guide to Law - Kerry M. Lavelle
    Call Number: KF315 .L365 2015
    ISBN: 9781634252362
    Publication Date: 2016-06-07
    There are many books out there about starting a law firm and growing your practice. What makes The Business Guide to Law stand out is the focus on the business aspect. It answers all those necessary questions (and more) that are important in creating and growing a unique law firm business. Author Kerry M. Lavelle is a lawyer that started and grew a law practice, and this book grows from his experience and wisdom. This book covers, in great detail, the time needed by you, and how best to spend it to grow your law firm.

    Cover Art
    The California Guide to Growing & Managing a Law Office - State Bar of California
    Call Number: KF318 .C282 2012
    Publication Date: 2012
    Growing a law practice can be a lawyer’s most rewarding and challenging professional experience. The goal of this book, is to make it less challenging and more rewarding. It picks up where The California Guide to Opening a Law Office left off, exploring challenges of growing a law practice in detail. Management information is included in chapters 2 and 4.

    Cover Art
    The California Guide to Opening & Managing a Law Office - State Bar of California
    Call Number: KF318 .C28 2008
    Publication Date: 2008
    As a sole practitioner or the head of a small firm, you must act as so much more than just CEO; you also must also wear the hats of Chief Financial Officer, Human Resources Director, Chief Technology Officer, and more. The California Guide to Opening and Managing a Law Office is your personal executive team. Management information is included in chapter 7.

    Cover Art
    Easy Self-Audits for the Busy Law Office - Nancy Byerly Jones
    Call Number: KF318.Z9 J66 1999
    ISBN: 1570736219
    Publication Date: 1999-01-01
    This easy-to-use tool will assist the attorney in conducting their own self audits. Whether they want to streamline procedures, foster teamwork, or build client relations, this book will identify the practice's problem areas, as well as offer ideas to improve them.

    Cover Art
    Every Relationship Matters - Peter Rouse
    Call Number: K120 .R68 2016
    ISBN: 9781627224604
    Publication Date: 2017-05-01
    Learn how to harness the power of relationships with yourself, clients, and colleagues to help you define and achieve professional and personal success. In this updated second edition, author Peter Rouse provides a framework to guide you in instituting reflection and change in your life in order to build and maintain relationships. Although the author uses lawyers and law firms as examples, anyone interested in utilizing relationships with clients and colleagues to improve their business or themselves will benefit from this book. Topics include: * Identify your firm's true values and discover what qualities are needed to develop them further * Learn to value and appreciate clients as a means for positive change. * Discover how to handle responsibility and blame in a client-focused perspective * Change your self-perception and improve your perception of the world * Learn how your workspace can effect client-perception * Recognize and embrace change as an opportunity for growth within the firm * Understand important skills of self-management and learn to listen to physical signals * Learn simple behavioral techniques to build trust and lasting relationships * Promote the conditions within your firm that will allow relationship building to flourish

    Cover Art
    The Essential Formbook: Comprehensive Management Tools for Lawyers - Gary A. Munneke; Anthony E. Davis
    Call Number: KF318 .M85 2000
    ISBN: 157073738X
    Publication Date: 2000-01-01 - present
    This volume aims to help you to establish profitable, affirmative client relationships so you can avoid unnecessary risks associated with malpractice and disciplinary complaints.

    Cover Art
    Flying Solo: A Survival Guide for the Solo Lawyer and Small Firm Lawyer - K. William Gibson
    Call Number: KF300 .F58 2014
    ISBN: 1614388148
    Publication Date: 2014-05-01
    A comprehensive guide to establishing and maintaining a successful solo law practice.

    Cover Art
    How to Build and Manage a Family Law Practice - Mark A. Chinn
    Call Number: KF300 .C455 2006
    ISBN: 9781590316955
    Publication Date: 2006-12-01
    Tips, strategies, tactics, forms, and real-word advice for starting - or building - a family law practice. Examples and practice tips show how to gain experience, understand the business aspects of a practice, develop and maintain the ideal client mix, and manage staff and finances. CD-ROM with forms and related materials. Management information included in chapter 11.

    Cover Art
    How to Build and Manage a Personal Injury Practice - K. William Gibson
    Call Number: KF1257 .G3 2012
    ISBN: 9781614381631
    Publication Date: 2013-02-26
    This essential guide discusses the basic differences between personal injury law and other types of law practice, and provides guidance for avoiding common pitfalls. Management information located in chapter 8.

    Cover Art
    How to Build and Manage an Entertainment Law Practice - Gary Greenberg; American Bar Association, Section of Law Practice Management Staff (Contribution by)
    Call Number: KF300 .G74 2001
    ISBN: 1570739048
    Publication Date: 2001-01-01
    This text is designed for lawyers and other professionals looking for a resource that will shorten the learning curve for building and managing an entertainment law practice. Management information is available in chapter 13.

    Cover Art
    How to Build and Manage an Environmental Law Practice - Stuart L. Somach
    Call Number: KF300 .S66 2000.
    ISBN: 1570737320
    Publication Date: 2000-01-01
    Through practical examples and explanations, this volume explores how to build and manage an environmental law practice. Management information is included in chapter 5.

    Cover Art
    How to Build and Manage an Estates Practice - Evans, Daniel B. American Bar Association
    Call Number: KF300 .E94 2008
    Publication Date: 2008
    This guide is logically organized to lead the attorney through the essential stages of developing a specialty practices such as an Estate Practice. It includes everything an attorney needs to know including how to manage workload and staff and much more. Management information included in chapter 8.

    Cover Art
    Law Firm Partnership Agreements - Corwin, Leslie D. & Ciampi, Arthur J.
    Call Number: KF318 .C667 1998
    Publication Date: 1998 - present
    Management information included in chapter 4.

    Cover Art
    Law Office Policy and Procedures Manual - Robert C. Wert; Howard I. Hatoff; Berne Rolston
    Call Number: KF318 .R64 2006
    ISBN: 9781590317693
    Publication Date: 2007-08-29
    This manual helps medium and large law firms increase productivity by providing a model manual for law office policies and procedures. The book contains numerous sample forms and documents, as well as extensive bibliographies. A CD containing the entire text of the manual is included, allowing customization of the manual for particular user needs.

    Cover Art
    Law Office Procedures Manual for Solos and Small Firms - Demetrios Dimitriou
    Call Number: KF318 .D56 2005
    ISBN: 1590314794
    Publication Date: 2005-11-02
    This step-by-step guide is the key to developing a tailor-made office procedures manual, containing everything from client data sheets and docket control systems, to employee benefits and file management policies. In addition, the entire text is included on CD-ROM for easy customization. Management information is included in sections 4 - 6.

    Cover Art
    The Survival Guide to Implementing Effective Law Firm Management Strategies - Arthur G. Greene; Sandra J. Boyer; American Bar Association, Law Practice Division Staff (Contribution by)
    Call Number: KF318 .G7374 2015
    ISBN: 9781634250603
    Publication Date: 2016-02-07
    Divided into five parts on culture, planning, partnerships, management, and finances, this guide will help you: understand why the culture in the firm is important to its success; develop a plan and vision for the future of the firm; construct marketing plans to recruit and retain new clients; devise a plan to build healthy partnerships in the firm and with your clients; outline delegation strategies and techniques for partners and associates; build a strong recruitment and retention plan for associates; formulate a system for compensation of partners, associates, and paralegals; and determine how to improve revenue.

    Cover Art
    Think Again! Innovative Approaches to the Business of Law - Jeffrey L. Nischwitz; American Bar Association, Section of Law Practice Management Staff (Contribution by)
    Call Number: KF318 .N57 2007
    ISBN: 9781590317372
    Publication Date: 2007-10-03
    The author takes a fresh look at specific ways to create a client-centric law firm and deliver exceptional client service by differentiating a law firm from other firms, and the specific skills and strategies needed to build effective and productive relationships that result in successful business development.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip