This is the "Opening a Practice" page of the "Law Practice Management Collection Subject Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Law Practice Management Collection Subject Guide  

A guide to the San Francisco Law Library's practice management resources for attorneys.
Last Updated: Jun 29, 2017 URL: http://calcountylawlib.libguides.com/lpmcollection Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Opening a Practice Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About These Resources

The following resources contain information about how to open a law practice.

 

Library Resources: Opening a Law Practice

Cover Art
The Business Guide to Law - Kerry M. Lavelle
Call Number: KF315 .L365 2015
ISBN: 9781634252362
Publication Date: 2016-06-07
There are many books out there about starting a law firm and growing your practice. What makes The Business Guide to Law stand out is the focus on the business aspect. It answers all those necessary questions (and more) that are important in creating and growing a unique law firm business. Author Kerry M. Lavelle is a lawyer that started and grew a law practice, and this book grows from his experience and wisdom. This book covers, in great detail, the time needed by you, and how best to spend it to grow your law firm.

Cover Art
The California Guide to Opening and Managing a Law Office - State Bar of California
Call Number: KF318 .C28 2008.
Publication Date: 2008
California State Bar Association guide provides information about multiple aspects of opening and managing a law firm including: deciding to open a firm, creating a business plan, finding a location, choosing technology and much more.

Cover Art
Easy Self-Audits for the Busy Law Office - Nancy Byerly Jones
Call Number: KF318.Z9 J66 1999
ISBN: 1570736219
Publication Date: 1999-01-01
This easy-to-use tool will assist the attorney in conducting their own self audits. Whether they want to streamline procedures, foster teamwork, or build client relations, this book will identify the practice's problem areas, as well as offer ideas to improve them. Information about opening a practice located in Part II pp. 219-32.

Cover Art
Flying Solo - K. William Gibson
Call Number: KF300 .F58 2014
ISBN: 9781614388142
Publication Date: 2016-08-07
Newly revised and updated to meet the needs of today s legal professionals, Flying Solo is a comprehensive guide to establishing and maintaining a successful solo law practice. The Fifth Edition of this ABA classic includes practical information gathered from a wide range of contributors, including successful solo practitioners, law firm consultants, state and local bar practice management advisors, and law school professors. Whether you're thinking of going solo, new to the solo life, or a seasoned practitioner, Flying Solo provides time-tested answers to real-life questions. This book will help you: Make the decision to open your own law firm Choose the right practice area(s) Create a business plan and determine your fees Leave your current firm without burning bridges Set up an office space Work with traditional and alternative billing arrangements Use technology to manage your finances Develop and execute a marketing plan Gain clients through social media Plan strategically for the future And much more "

Cover Art
How to Build and Manage a Family Law Practice - Mark A. Chinn
Call Number: KF300 .C455 2006
ISBN: 1590316959
Publication Date: 2006-12-01
Tips, strategies, tactics, forms, and real-word advice for building a family law practice. Includes CD-ROM with forms and related materials.

Cover Art
How to Build and Manage a Personal Injury Practice - K. William Gibson
Call Number: KF300 .G53 2012
ISBN: 1614381631
Publication Date: 2013-02-26
Newly revised to reflect the changing world of personal injury law, this edition contains updated information about the latest legal software, including cloud-based products, and practical tips for small firms and solo practitioners.

Cover Art
How to Build and Manage an Entertainment Law Practice - Gary Greenberg; American Bar Association, Section of Law Practice Management Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF300 .G74 2001
ISBN: 1570739048
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
This text is designed for lawyers and other professionals looking for a resource that will shorten the learning curve for building and managing an entertainment law practice. Addresses a variety of issues critical to establishing a successful entertainment law practice; the extensive appendix contains sample agreements, forms, letters, and checklists common to entertainment law practitioners.

Cover Art
How to Build and Manage an Environmental Law Practice - Stuart L. Somach
Call Number: KF300 .S66 2000
ISBN: 1570737320
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Through practical examples and explanations, this volume explores how to build and manage an environmental law practice. It covers: the specialized business aspects of environmental law practice; developing and maintaining the ideal clientele mix; and the technology, tactics and tools needed.

Cover Art
How to Build and Manage an Estates Practice - Daniel B. Evans; American Bar Association, Section of Law Practice Management Staff (Contribution by); American Bar Association, Section of Real Property, Probate and Trust Law Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF300 .E94 2008
ISBN: 1570737185
Publication Date: 1999-01-01
A guide to building and managing an estates practice. Chapters are organized logically to take the reader through the stages of developing your practice and there is advice on everything from organizing estate planning and trust administration files to conducting interviews and managing staff.

Cover Art
How to Start and Build a Law Practice - Jay G. Foonberg; ABA
Call Number: KF300 .F66 2004
ISBN: 1590312473
Publication Date: 2004-04-29
Information on multiple aspects of starting your own practice including identifying the right location, finding clients, setting fees, managing your office, maintaining an ethical and responsible practice, maximizing available resources, upholding your standards, and much more.

Cover Art
Law Firm Partnership Agreements - Leslie D. Corwin; Arthur J. Ciampi
Call Number: KF318 .C667 1998
ISBN: 1588520803
Publication Date: 1998-01-01
This book tackles the key life events of a law firm: partnership formation, setting compensation, partner admissions and departures, retirement, dissolution, termination of the partnership, mergers and acquisitions, and much more.

Cover Art
Virtual Law Practice - Stephanie L. Kimbro; American Bar Association, Law Practice Management Division Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF320.A9 K56 2015
ISBN: 9781634250344
Publication Date: 2015-07-07
The Internet has made it easier for potential clients to find legal services. Virtual law firms have revolutionized the delivery of legal services, lowering costs as well as evening the playing field. Whether you are a large law firm or a solo practitioner, there are business models of delivering legal services online that can bring your law practice up to speed with the 21st century legal marketplace. What are you doing to stay competitive? Do you have the know-how to responsibly incorporate technology and online delivery into your existing law firm? The revised and updated Virtual Law Practice is the one resource you need to take advantage of this fast-growing market. This book will help you: .Identify and develop a law firm business model for the online delivery of legal services .Successfully set up and manage a virtual law firm .Increase law firm revenue by responsibly implementing the delivery of online legal services .Make use of the latest technology .Create a successful marketing strategy for the delivery of legal services online .Understand state ethics and advisory opinions .Find more flexibility and work/life balance in the legal profession Stephanie Kimbro's practical guide also provides case studies of law firms that successfully integrate virtual law practice into their traditional business models along with client scenarios to show how web-based technology may be used by legal professionals to work with online clients and avoid malpractice risks."

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip