This is the "Find Briefs" page of the "California Briefs Collection" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

A guide to the California Court of Appeals and Supreme Court briefs available at San Diego Law Library
Last Updated: May 9, 2016 URL: http://calcountylawlib.libguides.com/calbriefs Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Find Briefs Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How do I find California Briefs?


Find Online

  • California Public Law Library Briefs Service (in-library access only on our patron terminals). This database provides access to petitions and briefs filed with the California Supreme Court and the California Courts of Appeal. Included on the site are briefs and petitions dated from 1990 for the California Supreme Court, and briefs and petitions dated from 1996 for the California Courts of Appeal. Search by docket number, case name or date.

  • LA Law Library Briefs Database  (access anywhere via the Internet) Search by docket number only to access California briefs from 1995 to present.

  • Archival Collection of Briefs Database (access by requesting assistance from library staff). Search by docket number and case name; PDF format. Briefs available from 1972-1994/1995. Staff may access this in-house database to find older briefs online.

  • Westlaw Next CA Briefs Database (access by requesting assistance from library staff). Staff may search behind the counter for briefs not found elsewhere in the SDLL collection.

    For more information about coverage, exclusions and data masking of online briefs go to the Briefs Online tab of this LibGuide.

    Find on microfiche

  • The microfiche collection is located at the Main library in downtown San Diego.

  • For arrangement of the briefs and coverage go to the Arrangement of briefs on fiche tab of this LibGuide.

  • Reference staff at the library can help you locate briefs and show you how to use the microfiche reader and make print copies.

  • Copies cost $.20 per page.

    Request through document delivery

  • Provide as much information as you have such as docket number, parties, dates, reporter citation

  • See our Document Delivery Request page for more information on how to submit a document request and pricing

    Other briefs repositories

  • Los Angeles Law Library has California Supreme Court briefs from 1858-current and California appellate courts briefs from 1902- current.

  • Bernard E. Witkin Law Library Alameda County has California Supreme Court briefs from 1895-1935, 1969-current and California appellate courts briefs from 1895-1935, 1969-current.

  • Witkin Law Library at the California State Library has California Supreme Court briefs from 1863-current and California appellate courts briefs from 1863-current. 

     

About Us

San Diego Law Library

 

Reference Desk: (619) 531-3900 

Email: refdesk@sdcpll.org

Prepared by Chris Pickford, Cataloging Librarian; with assistance from Janet Liggett & Gina Catalano

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip